Being an OTAKU and My OTAKUFEST Journey

in #blog6 years ago



P_20180222_194014_1.jpg


What is an "OTAKU"?



"Otaku", according to WIKI, refers to people with an obsessive interest especially those related to anime and manga. However, the obsession isn't limited to those two. There are also the so-called "game otaku", "cosplay otaku", "J-pop or J-idol otaku", etc.

Well, some people might have a negative thinking upon hearing it. It's not really surprising since there are some "stereotypes" related to being an otaku. I am a self-proclaimed "OTAKU", so somehow it's not really great to hear those stereotypes. Now, what are these stereotypes and what do I think about it (from an otaku perspective)?

  • An Otaku is antisocial.

Yes, most otaku spend time alone in their rooms to either watch anime, play games, etc but it doesn't mean that we're antisocial. We just enjoy having our me-time compared with "normal people". Try befriending an otaku! ^^

  • An Otaku has no or weird fashion sense.

I find this one pretty funny, actually. In movies and even in anime, an otaku is perceived as someone who is either fat or skinny and is wearing a tucked-in shirt, has a bandana on their head and has a huge backpack with some anime goodies. Well, the backpack or bigger bags with anime goodies might be true especially when we are in a shopping spree, though. haha xD Some might have a weird taste in fashion, but this is definitely a funny stereotype.. xD

  • They don't have a life of their own.

I remember one student from the English Academy I used to work for. She told me that in Korea, "otaku" is something unpleasant because they cannot live their life normally. They don't have goals in life because they just watch anime all the time. That student actually loves reading manga and webtoon but she said she's a "closet otaku". It means her being an otaku is a secret from her family and friends in Korea. I pity her. She doesn't have the freedom to do what she wants because of this stereotype.


What Type of OTAKU is @tegoshei?


  • Anime and Manga

Anime and manga is life! Yes, I am obsessed with anime and manga ever since I was young. I think some things just don't change. In my case, my love for anime and manga. I started watching anime when I was around 5 years old and it continued ever since.

  • Cosplay

    ZZ.jpg

This is something I enjoy with friends. I have cosplayed some anime characters as well as original characters. Well, I don't cosplay a lot, but I do attend cosplay events with my otaku friends.

  • Game

I used to play video games and online games, but these days I limit myself to mobile gaming.

  • J-music and idols

I started my J-pop addiction in the year 2009. It was the time I stopped going to University due to health reason. It was also the time I felt depressed until an idol group called NEWS came to my life. <3 Ohh~ I was also into K-pop from 2010-2011. It's quite short lived, but I still listen to some K-pop until now... but no more obsession. :)

So yeah, basically that explains what an "Otaku" is and my life as an Otaku. I might be obsessed with these stuff, but I know my priority. Anime is like my drug. I guess it depends on the person... because if I watch anime, I feel more eager to work and become productive. I even aced my University exams with the help of anime... lol I remember one time, a University classmate asked me... "How do you study? You always have the highest scores. Can you tell us your secret?" - - - I honestly answered. "WATCH ANIME!" My other classmate, Kuya Ram who is also an otaku, agreed to me... He got the second highest grade. xDD Crazy Otakuuuu~ <3

Now, on to the second topic of this post...



IMAGE SOURCE


What is OTAKUFEST?



Otakufest, according to it's official facebook page, started as a project by an organization of students and people from the University of the Philippines (Cebu) which aims to gather fans of various fandoms together. This project started last 2007 which is usually held in UP Cebu on February. This project which started as a "small gathering" grew tremendously in the past years. Now, it's one of the most anticipated hobbies convention.

In the event, there'll be various activities like cosplay competition, card-duels, figure collection viewing, drawing contests, Japanese karaoke contests, etc. You'll get to meet fellow otaku from various genre. Now, it's celebrating its 10th year.

@tegoshei's OtakuFest Journey



This is my first-ever OtakuFest 4 with my fellow JE Fangirls.



Despite being an anime fan for a long time, I didn't have the chance to go on conventions and gatherings such as these until February of 2011. That time, I was invited by one of my fellow fangirl who happened to be a student of UP. I didn't go there mainly for the "cosplay event" but for the gathering of J-music otaku and fangirls. It was my first time meeting most of them except for the girl at the center. We've met sometime in 2010 for a TegoMasu/NEWS meetup.



with my bestie @akielle... This was during OtakuFest 7 (2014)



I missed the OtakuFest in 2012 and 2013 because of 2012, I was busy preparing for my license exam and in 2013 I was still adjusting to my first job aka "adulting"... lol Anyway, OF7 was my first OtakuFest with my bestie. This time, my otaku-senpai from Japan also came to visit together with another Japanese friend who was trying to launch a cafe business here in Cebu.


During OF8 with my bestie and other otaku friends.



Spending time with otaku friends is priceless. This was the first time we gathered together for Ofest. I had my first cosplay debut with this group, too. However, it wasn't during Ofest but in another cosplay event here in Cebu. From then, we gather during events. ^^ There were more members who weren't able to join thought because they were still students and due to other personal reason.


OF9 (2016)... with two of my workmates-slash-otaku-friends.



These two guys here are my workmates-slash-friends. We just bumped into each other during the event and we took a picture together. During OF9, I was with my bestie and other otaku friends. They didn't cosplay though. hihihi~ It was fun and difficult staying in character. Enma Ai from Jigoku Shoujo (Hell Girl) has the personality which is completely the opposite of my "bubbly personality". Still, it was a challenging and great experience.


OF10 (2017)... I took a picture with one of the cosplayers. She's cosplaying YuriO of Yuri on Ice



Last year, I attended OtakuFest with my cousins. It was quite different from the previous otakufest which I spent with otaku friends, but it was also fun. In the venue, I met up with my bestie who was with her co-workers. But at the latter part of the event, I was with bestie. OF last year was also more on K-pop, but one thing made me happy... The K-pop group they invited did a cover of Arashi's "Love so Sweet". It made my night. (Mini-concert starts at night)

OTAKUFEST 2018



OtakuFest this year is going to be held this coming Saturday (February 24). It will be a very different one. There are some changes.

What are these changes???

  • Venue

For the past 10 years, it has always been held in UP Cebu but now, they have a bigger venue which is in Cebu Business Park Field.

  • Guest Cosplayers

There'll be international cosplayers. Before, they invited local cosplayers but now it evolved! I'm so excited to see them especially Yuegene Fay. <3 I won't be in the meet and greet though, but a simple glimpse of her in person would be enough to make my heart flutter. lol

  • Guest Performers

For the past 2 or so years, the guest performer was a K-pop group called AxisB. They're actually good and they now have quite a lot of fans here in Cebu. However, in this years OF, we're going to see bless4, a quartet-siblings all the way from Japan!!!! I'm not really a huge fan but I have listened to their songs. I guess it gives you an entire different feeling when a Japanese group sings anime songs. There's a great impact! So, I'm really looking forward to seeing them perform!!! Kyaaa~ especially Akino!! lol

  • No bestie...

This is going to be sad... T_T I've spent OF for the past 4 years with her, but this year she's in the US... So, no bestie during OF... huhuhu~ but I'll prolly be with cousins, Steemian friends and yeah... donna meet some of my otaku friends in the venue, too.



All in all, this event is still something I look forward to. I haven't been to a lot of conventions lately, but I see to it that I don't miss OtakuFest. It has been an important part of my Otaku life already, so yeah~~~ Let's get it on!!!!


I'll end my post here.
Thanks a lot for dropping by!
それではまた~
Love lots, @tegoshei

Sort:  

Yeah, otaku :)
You have great in cosplay,, i never join the cosplay, because anime still not famous yet about anime

Hello my Steemian otaku friend! hihihi~ really? I hope you can try it in the future.. It'll be a fun experience for you!

I like eren yeager from attack on titan costum,
I love his clothes,, cool XD
If someday, i join cosplay, i will wear that

Sounds great! I hope you could cosplay him someday!!! Please share it here, too!!! ^^

Really great article made a good choice my friend
You are really a successful person

Omg Yurio!!!💕💕💕
You are such a great otaku sis!

gyhahaha... I love YuriO.. and Otabek... <3 lol.. Thanks sis~!!! ^^ I'm readng Haikyuu!! manga now.. and I feel like watching the anime again.. huhuhu~ help meeee!!! haha xD

Woow, nice.. Nndut unta i adto sa otakufest. TOmorrow naman na sa?
:(

Adto... kitakits ta.. yep... tomorrow na... ^^ 150 ang entrance... :)

D ko ka adto..sad..school works..:(

Sad.. pero okay rna.. naa pai dghan events.. priorities first.. :)

Yay, cheers for all otakus!
You're having so much in meetups, I'm jealous:P
I haven't tried any cosplays yet. Maybe in the future...
Btw, your Chopper cosplay is so cool nee-chan^^

Thank you imouto-chan! I hope you could try cosplaying in the future.. ^^