TO THE KINDNESS OF GOD: An Album Review (Track 6)

in #blog5 years ago

To the Kindness of God 6.jpg

Continuing my review of Michael Card's new record, To the Kindness of God. Previous posts in this series listed below:

  1. Come as You Are
  2. Hymn to the Kindness of God
  3. The Shelter of the Shadow
  4. That Kind of Love
  5. When Dinah Held My Hand / Jesus Is on the Mainline
  6. Gomer’s Song
  7. This Is My Father’s World
  8. I Will Be Kind
  9. Why Not Change the World

“Gomer’s Song” is from Michael’s Ancient Faith Trilogy, but it’s found a new and fitting home on this record. Gomer is graceless. Even her name sounds unattractive. But is this not the story of every Christian? Where would any of us be if not for the love that called us out of our shame and darkness? Hosea’s love for his unlovable wife is one of the clearest illustrations of God’s love for his rebellious people. Gomer’s story is my story. “Gomer’s Song” is my song.

(To be continued...)