Mancave Makeover

in #blog5 years ago (edited)


My room earlier this year (and way earlier)


The Context

Been a while since I last posted, today I'm gonna share some improvements I did for my personal project to do a complete makeover of my room and turn it into a mancave of sorts. All these years I just stood by and neglected to organize my workstation as stuff kept piling up, until one day some time last year, I realized I needed to do some general cleaning.

The Mess

From a simple desk receiving upgrades over the years, extra monitors, a surround sound system, prior video cards for mining on the side, for some reason I just got used to my workstation looking the same. As long as it's still working and my rig is well maintained, I didn't seem to care much about cleaning the whole area. But then, there was a time when I just had to neglect cleaning and organizing stuff due to busy working days, then came a time where some friends just really had to hang out at my place for a week, their side-comments started echoing for days - "man your room needs a makeover".

Grotesque pictures of scrap hardware and old desktops/consoles laying around, spaghetti wiring, large dustballs and etc. omitted


received_1197205503789200.jpeg


Yeah I know it's such a mess


The Plan


Sketch.png


Rough sketch of what it should look like in the near future

I had initially drafted my vision of what my battlestation would look like, and came to a temporary layout as seen above. Since my table lacked in length, I had to go do some rounds at the home depot to procure a lot of DIY materials, specially a well-measured MDF (medium density fiberboard), and to gain some insights for interior design as well. Sadly I was too busy doing all these DIY stuff that I didn't have them documented apart from spray-painting these beams where the monitors will be mounted. The design might change in the near future though so stay tuned!

received_2376046375987862.jpeg


The Work In Progress


received_418585392108684_LI.jpg


Lights on


It's still a work in progress but I believe a lot has improvement from before. My workspace gained a lot of space, and it isn't too cramped up unlike before. The wiring's not yet smoothed out since I still have to drill holes and plot mounting points, but I'm happy that the backside's much cleaner now. I still have a lot of plans for the lazy me - where to put the mini-fridge, speaker mounts and etc.

There's still way too much more to be done, but still, one day at a time!

20191015_223223.jpg


received_2450845878492497.jpeg


Lights out!


#ccc

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed Daily Income and Payout for Newbies (2.0) in #ccc and Follow the Honor Code - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Looks like your giving NASA a run for its money with how many screens can be in one room but looks good buddy.

Thanks! Appreciate the feedback! A NASA-style command center would still be a dream for me though, but it's still a work in progress!