How to Make Your Web Site the Canonical Source

in #blog4 years ago

I am writing this post in response to a comment by dhimmel. @dhimmel asked:

What if I want to use Hive to cross-post content from my personal blog, as a way of permanently archiving the content? I think it's shortsighted to think that all text posted to the blockchain should exist solely on the Hive blockchain.

To reply, I wrote an article on my personal site titled Social Media and Web Development

In this article I explained that one should create the article on their site first. They should then have a link to the article in their HIVE Post like I do in the above structure.

I will post variations of the article on HIVE and a few other unnamed social media platforms. Because there are multiple links to the article, Googlebot will recognize my web site as the canonical source.

Social Media and Your Site

I carefully crafted the above image with Sharpie pens. Although I now have green streak along my chin after an unfortunately little sharpie incident.

Although my insightful article and this post say essentially the same thing. I wrote each post separately.

The reason I do this is because I don't want my personal site to have a duplication of the content on HIVE.

If I had the exact same content on my personal site as I did on HIVE. Googlebot would assume that my site was a copy which would reduce the page rank of my site.

A post on HIVE has a short life cycle. I can only earn revenue in the first seven days; By putting a link to my personal web site. I establish that my site is the source of the wonderful insights that I am showering on the web at this moment.

People concentrate so much on @cheetah that they fail to remember that duplicate content cuts both ways. I hurt the PR on my personal site when I copy and paste to HIVE.

PS: I am publishing this post on Peakd. When I am done, I will copy the URL from Peakd and update my web site. There is no limit to the number of edits I can make on my personal site because I am making the changes through an SSH interface.

After that I will write a post on an unnamed social media site that bears some similarities to HIVE.