Dramatic day ! But against all odds .

in #blog6 years ago

It was a crazy day in Nairobi when my phone alarm woke me up.

I was to go take sports photos on a cricket match that was between Kenya and India.

It all begun on one day when I took my friend John kiama to a  PR (Public Relations ) company that wanted to hire a blogger .My friend needed someone to show him the place where the offices were,because I was familiar with the place in town where the PR offices were located  I accepted to take him there and besides I was free that day.

When we reached the offices the manager came and invited us in his office.He asked me what I do for a living and I told him  that I was   a photographer and filmmaker. To my amazement he started to interrogate me about my photography work. 

He ended up giving me a job to go take pictures at a venue called gym khana located in parklands area in Nairobi city.The real trouble begun when he asked me if I had a camera and I accepted to have own a canon 7d camera of which I didn't have, I was  also not an experienced photographer but my instincts kind of showed me that I should just accept and I could hire the camera from a friend then pay him the profit the PR  company was going to pay me.

The day for the match came,the PR company booked an uber for me but I missed it because I over slept,That morning it was raining cats and dogs time was ruining out too.I had managed to lease the canon 7d camera from a friend but his battery was low. I took a motorbike to the venue (here in Kenya motorbikes can  substitute  Taxis)It was raining on the  motorbike  during my way to the cricket venue,I was charged by the motorbike Ryder  2usd and it was a 15 minute ride I was very lucky to pay such a cheap amount because I was expecting it to be 10usd,I felt lucky .

On reaching the arena there was rain and it really gave me a challenge because I feared the camera to be ruined by the rain.At the end the rain reduced and I was happy to take good photos from the place including (NADEEN) the player on the cover of zevoxee magazine.

Its now my obligation to enjoy being in such a great community(steemit) and am proud to show case my work here as we grow together in the block chain world.

Zevoxee is an online magazine  that show cases the works of photographers,animators, artists ,graphic designer and any other visual content maker either electronic or drawing so us to help there creativity reach the next level. 

 

Sort:  

It's good that you did not let the day get the best of you. You stuck to what you needed to do and did it.

Yes and the efforts finally paid off.