Lent

in #blogging6 years ago

Happy (early) St. Valentine's Day, my fellow Steemians!

Tomorrow is also the start of Lent season. In Olde English, "Lent" means "spring season." For some, Lent is also the start of "misery season."

As a child who was raised in the Catholic faith, I was taught that during Lent season, I was to give up something pleasurable, like candy or sweets, to honor the forty days Jesus suffered in the wilderness at the beginning of his ministry.

As an adult, I have given up many things for Lent. Last year, I gave up drinking alcohol. That was incredibly difficult, especially since I had planned a trip to Italy for the last days leading up to Easter. In other years, I also suffered during Lent, having given up such small pleasures as drinking coffee and eating pastries.

For this year, I have not yet figured out what I will give up. I have few vices already - I don't really drink, I do not smoke, and I am not a big meat eater, so giving up something just seems silly to me. Also, I don't really feel that giving up something for forty days just for the sake of giving up something makes me feel any closer to God or Jesus.

Did I just ensure my entry into hell for saying that?

What do you typically give up for Lent?

Here is a photo of St. Patrick's Cathedral that I took. I go here for Ash Wednesday.

IMG_3346.JPG

Happy Ash Wednesday and Happy St. Valentine's Day!

Sort:  

Great post, Nova. Happy Valentine's Day and I resteem dear 😙

Happy Valentine's girl 😚 ❤!!!