Good and not so good memories

in #blogging3 years ago

img_0.5255435251874515.jpg

Cleaning some drawers and have to throw these in order to free up some space. Although they are not that old, they bring back memories. Nostalgia is a powerful thing.

**Motorola Moto G 2 (stolen) **

img_0.8398524945149394.jpg

Goggle (LG) Nexus 5X

Loved this phone although had low specs. Evem so, the best photos in my Gallery, were taken with it. Unfortunately, 16 months later, had the famous bootloop issue and although my guarantee was still active, they asked me to pay more than I paid for the new one. The reason? There's water inside the phone. Needless to say, it was a lie. I never used it close to any liquid.

img_0.40584382848116335.jpg

Mi A1 (stolen together with Moto G). As you can see I love stock Android phones.

img_0.8818719794226872.jpg

And finally Redmi Note 7. Dropped it a week after I bought it and since then been using it with the broken screen. This is not a stock Android phone, but all Xiaomi phones look great on paper. Well, you get what you pay for and all Xiaomi phones are full of bloatware you can't remove or even disable. And they are a privacy nightmare, for those who care. Been thinking lately if I should root it.

img_0.6953701285591799.jpg

I was was extremely angry with the way it happened, 4 Pakistanis surrounding me and accusing I was filming them, although both phones were in my pocket.

And then started the rumble. Punching and kicking from both sides, but remember, it was 1 against 4. At some point, one of them that was hitting me from behind, grabbed my wallet. And at that moment I made the decision to focus on him. Had only around $50 in my wallet but didn't want to lose my ID and have to go through all this bureaucracy to renew it.

He started running (as the other two who got the phones and I was 2 meters behind him. As we turn on a corner, I see two old friends. We didn't have to exchange a single word, they understood what was going on. A few seconds later, we get him. I think you all know what followed. And the reason I stopped was because this was downtown at the centre of the city, around 16:00 in the afternoon.

Something that stuck with me was the fact that a lot of people saw what happened and not even one tried to help. For weeks all I was thinking was revenge and trying to figure out how to find them. In the end I never did.

Later that day I went to the police because I wanted to ask the major Telecom companies to block the unique IMEI and serial number of the phones so the thieves would not be able to use them. Otherwise I wouldn't bother. But when I went to these companies and explained what happened, providing the police report for theft, they replied that only the company I was registered would do that. Felt so powerless and just couldn't understand why they would do that. In the end, decided to keep the empty boxes with the IMEI numbers, because who knows, maybe I would need them in the future. Also took multiple photos, always hoping that one day perhaps I would need them. Anyway...