"2 Crappy Pages a Day"

in #blogs6 years ago

This is a quote by one of my favourite bloggers/podcasters, Tim Ferriss. He explains that when he is writing or completing a project, this is his quota for the day, no matter if they are good or bad, they are done. Tim has picked two pages a day as it is an easy win. It isn’t a mountain of a task, and he may even do more on a particular day. He also acknowledges that if he doesn’t write two pages a day he doesn’t panic.

1200x630bb.jpg

He does this for a period of time and as the days pass, his book/project is slowly completed. The bad writing days are edited on another day or un-used and the good writing days are pounced upon and taken advantage of.

Now, I am not writing a book and probably won’t in the future. However, writing these blog posts is quite enjoyable for me. It forces me to read around a subject, research it, come to my own conclusion, collate information and finally morph it into something presentable.

For those of you that don’t listen to Tim Ferriss, he often talks about morning rituals. Many of the top performing people he interviews have morning rituals that revolve around exercise, mediation or journaling. I think this is something I am going to try to adopt, a morning ritual of two crappy pages. Or more precious two crappy blog posts. These posts may never be uploaded but I like the idea of getting into this routine of formulating my thoughts and opinions.

Ben Brown (Instagram: @MrBenBrown) a YouTube star known for his daily vlogs and awesome photography and filmmaking once said about his daily vlogs “You never know what will happen if you keep going, but you know what will happen if you stop” (words to that effect as I cannot remember the quote and cannot find the video either – if anyone does know if you could tell me that would be great).

So, who knows what will become of my endless rambling. A successful blog? Doubtful. A book? No chance. Small group of pitiful readers who occasionally give me a like? Most likely.

Sort:  

It is an excellent way to write more, just do it! I am often struggling myself with it