I went to interview for a Personal Assistant role but got this...

in #blogtoken3 years ago

I received a mail asking me to come for the interview. It was a role of personal assistant. It was my first job interview and I was elated. I tried on different outfits because more than having a great CV and doing well in the interview, I also have to look the part.

The morning of the interview, I tried my best to look good. Being somebody that hardly put on make up, I was proud of the much I did on my face that day. Looking back now, I cant stop laughing because it was a very wacky make up.
IMG_20190827_090123.jpg

At the interview, I was made to wait three more hours after the scheduled time. And when the MD finally came, I was surprised to hear that instead of the Personal assistant role, he had another offer. He wanted me to be his children private tutor!

Wait, what? Why didn't he just say it on the mail that he wanted a nanny or private tutor. I was disappointed but I played along.

We went to his house. I'll call it a mansion if i'm to compare it to most houses in this area. I meet his kids and they were adorable twins, a boy and a girl, around two years of age. They have an elderly nanny but he wanted a young person, someone who can play, teach and engaged them intellectually. His wife was away in the abroad and the pay was fair. Honestly I considered the job but he later told me the following day that the former teacher who was away came back and Is resuming. Non the less, the company kept me as a graduate intern without basic salary. I spent two weeks there before I got a different job.

Looking back at how far I have come and my different experiences with different jobs, I am proud of my journey. I have decided to earn a living working on my own and i'm looking at the different aspects of free lancing which led me here by the way. I'm grateful for all the experiences with those jobs because from factory job to banking, loan collector, customer service representative and route manager. I definitely have come a long way and In all honesty those jobs refined me.

I'm sharing this with you to encourage you to trust the process. Do the best you can at any given time and when opportunity presents itself, don't be afraid to explore. Life happens but what matters is what we make of it.

Live. Laugh. Love.