I Have High Diastolic Blood Pressure

in #blood2 years ago (edited)


Blood Pressure Monitor
Photo by Manik Roy on Unsplash

I would normally go straight to the Blood Bank at Queen Elizabeth Hospital, usually because of my busy schedule. I also try to regularly donate every year because I’m one of the R1R1 phenotypes donors. Whenever there is a blood donation drive, I have donated earlier and required approximately 3 months before I could donate again. My last blood donation was in May 2021, so last October I tried to donate but my haemoglobin count was slightly below the allowable limit, so I thought I come by to this event. Unfortunately, this time I can't donate, again, not because of my haemoglobin count, but my blood pressure reading, particularly my diastolic reading was too high. Yes, my systolic was also high, but it varies between reading. I did 6 reading with a few minutes intervals after 2 readings. My diastolic didn't change much.

Blood Donation Drive

Wait, what? But I regularly cycle. What went wrong?

If you are wondering, I have been donating my blood since 2004 and the only complication that I have is just a low haemoglobin count.

Systolic versus Diastolic

So before we continue, let us get to the basics of how are our blood pressure is measured.

Systolic (the number on top) is pressure exerted when the heart pumps blood throughout the body.

and

Diastolic (the number at the bottom) is pressure exerted when the heart relaxes and refills with blood.

Now, if my blood pressures are constantly higher than 130/80 mm Hg, then I might be considered as having hypertension. But if only diastolic is high, I might have isolated diastolic hypertension (IDH), which is only about less than 20% of hypertension cases. Still worrying to me.

What are the cause?

Some of the causes of IDH are;

Based on the list above, I think I could pinpoint my cause of IDH. It's stress and anxiety, and caffeine!

Symptom of high diastolic pressure

There are no symptoms associated with high diastolic blood pressure, which explain why I feel normal that day. However, for severe hypertension, you might be having these symptoms.

  • Severe headaches
  • Nosebleeds
  • Anxiety
  • Nervousness
  • Sweating
  • Fatigue or confusion
  • Irregular heartbeat
  • Facial flushing
  • Dizziness
  • Vision problems
  • Chest pain
  • Shortness of breath
  • Sleeping problems
  • Blood in the urine
  • Blood spots in eyes
  • Pounding in chest, neck or ears

Treating high diastolic pressure

Basically, high diastolic pressure can be treated with a change of lifestyle, supplement and medication.

Change of lifestyle

For me, personally, I would need to cut down my caffeine intake. I drink a lot of coffee, every day. It's like a staple drink to me. Other than that, I think I am OK. At 169 cm tall and 62kg of weight, I think I have no problem with my weight. I eat salads every now and then, thanks to my new business venture and I don't usually eat high sodium food, nor do I smoke, and I don't take alcohol.

I'm managing my stress level because working for yourself do have its own stress, but I still try to maintain good sleep, more than 6 hours of sleep every day. I also cycle every week, whether doing it alone or with friends.

Getting supplement

I was, previously taking a natural supplement daily, which help get my blood circulation flowing smoothly. But lately, I only take it if I want to go cycling. Maybe that's why I get high diastolic pressure. Other than that, taking minerals like magnesium, calcium and potassium would also help.

Medication

I would prefer the above treatment before resorting to medication. The doctor at the blood donation drive gave me a note to go to any government clinic to have me checked. I haven't made an appointment yet, because of my scepticism of the doctor prescribing me medication. Did I mention that I am one of those who have an R1R1 blood donor? Blood bank really wants my blood. Medication is a no-no at this point.

Government Health Check Slip

Bottomline

At the end of the day, I do understand that we will develop complications as we grow older, but living healthy will ensure that we will encounter less of it. I am grateful that I don't have any serious illness, and have the chance to enjoy my life, do stuff that I like.

So how is your health?



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://www.northborneogeek.com/2021/12/i-have-high-diastolic-blood-pressure/