Serenity

in #blues6 years ago

Lady sing the blues so well

As if she mean it

As if it's hell down here

In the smoke-filled world

Where the jokes are cold, they don't laugh at jokes

They laugh at tragedies

At the end of the path we turned up and before I even got a glimpse, the entire place welcomed us on top of the small hill surrounded by the Finnish forest. It was exactly as I remembered it. When you enter a place again after a long time, you still remember every corner. Memories flooded my senses and I could hear the sound of distant laughter of children, most probably us but a decade ago. It has been very close to my heart and most of my summer memories from my childhood are from this place. It's funny how the same place can look so different through the eyes of a child. Old portraits in the fireplace always creeped me out as a kid. I used to ask them nicely by muttering in the darkness of the night "I'm only going to the toilet and I promise to be nice and go back to bed". I had a wild imagination as a kid. I could see the eyes moving in the portraits.

Now I just see two beautiful paintings of our distant relatives. They don't look as mad as I thought they did. Everything in this house is really old, more than 300 years old. It is quite an ancient place!

One summer my grandmother taught me some children's rhymes on our piano. She passed on some songs that her mother used to sing to her as a child, Snow White.

That summer made my passions grow stronger. Unfortunately, the 150 year old Steinway grand piano that I used to play on has now been moved elsewhere. Can't leave it there during the harsh winters, right?

Some friends told me some years ago about Regina Spektor and her songs. When I played that song, the moody piano notes caught my attention and her unique expression convinced me that music really is beyond borders. There's nothing too this or that. I'd like to share with you two songs by her that I find musically fascinating! I hope you enjoy them!

Bisous

This post I have taken from my blog in www.nouw.com/ladolcemusica, I hope it will inspire you <3