Bob Hope and "Cog" the cat

in #bob6 years ago

Hi everyone,

It is Ye Olde Fogey again, hoping you are all alive and well.

Every time I use that expression I realise what a tremendous privilege it is to be able to say those words, and we tend to say it almost always without even realising what they mean. I mentioned in the previous post the life-changing miracle that happened to me, and I shall definitely share it with you, (it is actually the main reason for my taking part in this) but the time's not right yet.

Image Credit

In the previous post I made a note to remember the famous comedian Bob Hope. I was tired out (old fogey's tire easily) and thought of Hope who was being interviewed after turning 100 Yes, he really lived more than 100 years

It went something like:

"How do you feel, Mr. Hope"
Answer: "Before lunch I don't feel anything. After lunch it's time for my nap"

I have saved many of his sayings somewhere. When I find them I shall post them for you to enjoy.

Did I mentioned the cat with the personality problem that I stay with?

I really do stay with him and not the other way round. When I moved in he was already here, and he does not allow me to forget it. He is a young tomcat (It's obvious he has not had any operations yet, if I may put it that way) The problem is that he seems to think he is a dog. He stands up against my leg on his hind legs to be petted and tries so hard to wag his tail that it literally becomes spastic.

As you will find out later, I grew up on farms and I have never seen such behavior from farm cats. They were naughty creatures with a "holier than thou" attitude that seemed to have to make an effort to endure humans and other species. Here I live with one that's an absolute disgrace to such an attitude. I shall post a photograph of him as soon as I learned how to take a picture with my phone. I've decided to name him "Cog", seeing as he has the body of a cat and the mind of a dog.

By the way, I have to beg your pardon for my spelling and grammar. Its been a long time since I did this, and in the interim I suffered the near total memory loss I mentioned, and will still write about, which obviously does not make it easier (Old Fogeyism to fall back on again, eh?)
I'll leave for another day.

Fond Regards till next time

Ye Olde Fogey

Sort:  

Cats sleep 16 to 18 hours per day. When cats are asleep, they are still alert to incoming stimuli. If you poke the tail of a sleeping cat, it will respond accordingly.

Very interesting. I never knew that they spend so much time sleeping. I'll try and watch Cog and see what he does

A female cat is called a queen or a molly.

Thanks - Good to know

Normal body temperature for a cat is 102 degrees F.

I love your writing and know just how you feel. LOL

Cant wait for the next post.

Congratulations @yeoldefogey! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!