PLASTIC SURGERY: MIRACLE PROCEDURE OR SLIPPERY SLOPE?

in #body6 years ago

There’s an old mantra that goes, “Once you cross a line, you’ll keep crossing it.”

It can apply to anything from sex, to drugs, to Kenny G and be as all consuming as an overzealous case of crabs on Bigfoot’s junk. It’s essentially, a description of the first stages of addiction, from the stance of a warning.

But then you’ve got it’s counter: Try everything once.

And there lies the problem. If to truly live a full life, you have to experience everything, then can you really go around worrying about how often you’ll keep crossing that line?

Which brings me to plastic surgery. Or more broadly, body modification. You’ll notice that most people that have one tattoo, have multiple. Just like most people that have one piercing also have many. But the interesting topic for me is altering the shape and composition of your face and body. It just seems like SUCH a slippery slope.

There are songs and poems and memes, and entire television series based around accepting yourself for who and what you are (I’m looking at you RU PAUL’S DRAG RACE.) And growing up in a society that is generally shitty to one another about everything from income disparity to the size and shape of their mammaries, accepting your body and being either OK with where you’re at, or making healthy changes to change it, is very important.

But then enters science. An entire industry formed around the thought, “But what if you could change it without making any internal changes?” Hate your nose? Get a new one? Too fat? We’ll freeze it out. Don’t like your toes? We’ll break’em, remove’em, and replace’em.

And thus the slide down to monstrosity. If you change your noes, but still hate your ankles. What’s stopping you from changing them too? If you don’t like your ears, and you’ve already tattooed on your eyebrows, why not get them shaved down to a shape you like? And while you’re at it, let’s take some fat from your slightly too large ass, and put it in your slightly too small lips. Presto Chango!

Look, I’m a guy, and don’t understand the struggle women have every day to meet some standard of appearance that has been laid out just to hang out of reach. But I wonder, is there really a healthy level of cosmetic surgery that one can stop at and be fine with? Can you really just have your nose bone shaved down and be done with it?

I mean, hell, even the poison in Botox, wears off eventually allowing your stupid eyebrows to move again wreaking wrinkle havoc on your brow! You literally have to go back forever after just one injection.

I gotta know what you think. Is it a fine industry where doctors help people live their best life? Or is it a charlatans game, playing on the insecurities of people for profit and Frankensteinian experimentation?

Should I get a tummy tuck before I start talking shit?

You tell me.

Sort:  

It's so horrible to look at someone that has gone overboard with this. So easy to lose yourself, and all of your money.

I think it’s absolutely absurd how insecure people have become but where ever there’s a sucker there’s also someone willing to take advantage of them. I don’t think you need a tummy tuck, I think you need more Kenny G in your life. Lol thank you for such a great post.

EVERYONE needs more Kenny G in their life. Excellent point.

Amen to that 🙌🏽

i think the biggest problem is with things like botox. as you mentioned, its deadly and its not a one time thing. it stops wrinkles but it makes one's face expressionless and its a continuous process that eventually makes one look worse than what a naturally aged faced may look like. i mean how much can you keep stretching the face .. it will get distorted at some point.

i don't think it is ok to promote this thing. fuller lips, chiseled faces, thinner nose, its all photoshop as seen in newspapers and magazines. there is always a high risk of things not turning out as one wants.. and i also do not agree its to please oneself and not others. it is a direct result of this idea of beauty that fashionistas create and everyone wants to look a certain way. if only beauty was appreciated and diversity was considered beautiful. And anyway, the concept of beauty is so subjective. so i just dont get the need to fight aging and the looks that one was born with.

Applying lotions and makeup to enhance features on the face is understandable as one is not undergoing something dangerous. botox is hell. Any satisfaction achieved from palstic surgery is temporary and the long term effects are devastating, both financially and aesthetically. So I think people should really stop undergoing these procedure. Need to lose weight, go hit the gym and not an operation theatre. I think plastic surgery should be banned outright (i know its not fair to ban it, but my opinion on it is that extreme).

If I had the disposable income I would "adjust" a few things maybe. I do worry about the continued upkeep on things like botox. I'm probably going to need a new knee in the next decade or so. Does that count?

Getting a knee replacement doesn't count! That's for mobility and pain relief (and from everything I've heard, it's the absolute best thing you can do for yourself.)

if you are 43....its ok to look 43...not look like a 28 year old reptilian

Completely agree.

I up voted immediately upon seeing Tyrone Biggums

Thanks for sharing

Congratulations @writesbackwards! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

In many case I have seen that it has failed, but most of the case I have received positive news many actresses in Hollywood as well as Bollywood has gone for ti and they have seen the results with few having a disaster

Good post. I think there’s a fine line between wanting to look good and making the most of yourself, and then getting obsessed with perfection. And it does seem to be a slippery slope once you start going down the plastic surgery route.

I would not accept to change something that I do not like, I would simply accept what has touched me in the whole body, because we are made in the image of God and I believe that God made you perfect, increase or reduce something does not seem to me, and that is the proper judgment, I love myself as I am. But I respect all those who want to improve their appearance

Cosmetic Surgery is a charlatans game that plays on the insecurities of people for profit and experimentation. I am glad you quoted this. Our whole medical industry is money motivated.

I am a medical professional and I have seen many lives ruin with cosmetic surgery. Once you dip into it you are forever dependent on their "correction" or surgeries.

You should read the book by Dr. Harvey Bigelsen, MD. "Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs." It exposes the corruption of the medical industry and those that controls it.

I am more inclined to believe in wholistic medicine like Functional Medicine, Herbal Medicine, Vitamin Therapy (High Therapeutic Dosages,) and Acupuncture. I have seen wonders in highly qualified professionals in these fields.

Kop gura gura hi cewek lageo kapeek keno

I think that plastic surgery is a shit, sorry for bad language but it’s true. People should look how they look it’s something that nature got you and you should appreciate it. Just my opinion. But afterall, nice post, keep it going :) cheers!

I'd have to agree generally. I think the issue with artificially changing your appearance, is that when it's that easy, you just keep finding things to change.