What i'm crunching. Pt. 1: SRBase

in #boinc7 years ago

SRbase.png

What is SRBase?

SRBase is a mathematical research project that uses Internet-connected computers using Boinc, trying to solve Sierpinski / Riesel Bases up to 1030, the project is in collaboration with the Mersenne CRUS project.

Why i'm crunching it?

Because SRBase perfectly works on my CPU's and the work units are running lightning fast.

www_logo.gif

My SRBase Rank

My Project Rank Total Credit: 312 out of 1154
My Project Rank Recent Average Credit: 51 out of 1154

Card_GRC_small.jpg

Gridcoin and SRBase

I'm earning some money crunching for SRBase with Team Gridcoin!
Team Rank by Total Credit: 63 out of 281
Team Rank by Recent Average Credit: 38 out of 281

Sort:  

This is amazing!

We need more posts like this describing projects people work on and why they crunch the projects they crunch.

Perhaps something to differentiate posts of this topic from other posts could be added to the steemit media pack. Or maybe we could compile a BOINC project pack with images like what you used or maybe make a pack that combines GRC imagery with BOINC project imagery.

Posts like these are something that will help new users determine which projects they want to crunch.

Thank you!

My pleasure!
I think that some different image packs are already in the works.

Hmm. I wonder why kuradikurat downvoted this post. Any idea?

@kuradikurat must hate srbase

What a pitty. :D

I guess b/c you should explain in more detail why you crunch it. Does only this project work well on your CPUs? Any reason why not any of the others? Your rank alone cannot really convince / doesn't really mean anything for us. Just sayin'. Good idea though to present some (unknown) projects :-)

Thank you for your suggestion, this first post was a "test balloon" to see if there are some people interested in such posts, i'll try to be more detailed in my next posts.

I'd be all for more detail. =)

Maybe you could cover the position of Team Gridcoin relative to the overall project compute?

Hmm. You gave me the idea for a future post, thank you. ;)

You're likely crunching it mainly because you're making the most money off of it. You didn't mention that. Are we supposed to pat you on the back for seeking the projects that make you the most money?

Money? I live in Germany. Because of the very high prices for electrictity Gridcoin would need to raise a LOT before i would break even, let alone making any profit. Crunching for money? A nice joke. :D