You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: M

in #book5 years ago

I've definitely been able to tolerate and even enjoy small bits and pieces of stream of consciousness writing. I've never read any of Saul Bellow's work and I think I will avoid that for now.
I've never actually studied modern literature, but I have people in the family who have. I won't dare mention to them that I tried reading Joyce.

When it comes to Agricola and the parallels I made with Brexit, in that case, it is easy because they are dealing with how much continental influence is good for them again. In general, I disagree with the adage that history often repeats itself. That's kinda true if you disagree with the outcome of the event, it's more like humans even 2000+ years ago thought silimarly. Many aspects of society and humanity have changed less than we imagined. We just react similarly to similar events. The more I read ancient literature, the more obvious it seems.

I'm actually reading a never explored genre right now. I'll probably blog about it after, but if you want a heads up it's a feminist sci-fi utopian novel called Herland, by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. I'm no expert on feminism or feminist writers, but I did just read her bio and she had some very interesting mentors and role models while growing up.

Huxley's genre I like a lot. I read brave new world some time ago, possibly in school.
I think I will read it again now that you mention it. I found a copy, but for some reason, it is prefaced with a children's TV Show themes ong.
https://archive.org/details/BRAVENEWWORLD1932ByAldousHuxleyDownloadPDFAudioBookReadByAldousHuxley

Sort:  

OMG! OMW! you know, in writing that comment, it never entered my head that I was entering a contest! I really am a bit of a dunce sometimes! Thank you @abitccoinskeptic, I am glad you chose Huxley. I should really go back and re-read it. It's one of the books that made an indellible impression on my then very young mind. Thanks again!