THE SPIRIT OF APOLLO- Part 0

in #book6 years ago

spiritofapollo.jpg

"A self-improvement text scientifically prepared to help the student develop his maximum potentialities and live a successful, satisfying life of meaningful service."

Without doubt, reading this book played a big role in shaping me to become the person I am today. Thus, I encourage anyone who hasn't read this book before to try to get it. It is very good for adolescents, youths and even adults. It is a book every parent should actually get for their children. The text written at the top center of the book, which I have included in my introductory block quote has proven to be in fact, very true!

About eleven years ago, I explored my dad's library and found this book titled "The Spirit of Apollo" written by Dr. Sidney Newton Bremer and published by Successful Achievement, Inc in 1971. What attracted me to the book was initially the title. Of course, I had heard of Apollo 11, the spaceflight that landed the first humans (Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin) on the moon. So, I thought I was going to find all the details of their journey to the moon and back to earth in the book. It turned out that it was not going to be the case because what I found in the book was completely different and much more than the account of the first landing on the moon. However, what remained the same was that this book still infused in me the same spirit of confidence and life of meaningful service that took Neil and Buzz to the moon and back to earth.

When I eventually opened the book, I skimmed through its pages and was quick to discover that there are sections of the book that discussed the life of great people, what they achieved, how they achieved it and the obstacles they had to overcome to make a name for themselves. What made me even more interested were the "Potrait of Greatness Sketches" by Robert A. Powell. That instant, I said to myself, "This is the book to read!" In the end I learnt so much including, but not limited to:

"Experience is transferable. There is no surer way along the road to success than to follow in the footsteps of successful people who have journeyed before us."
"Faith in self is the starting point of all achievement. This is the first law of success. There is no other way except by accident, and accidents, or seemingly good fortune, rarely account for what is known as enduring success in life"
"If a deaf, dumb and blind Helen Keller could get a college education, what is not possible for boys and girls with unimpaired faculties, and with health and strength and unnumbered opportunities?"

There are altogether fifteen chapters in the book, with the story of a great personality included as a true example of what is discussed. There couldn't have been a better way to pass his message across. Lots of respect to Dr. Sidney newton Bremer for that. Below are the titles of the fifteen chapters and the personality whose story was used to pass the message across to the readers are included in parentheses:

Chapter 1: Know Thyself (Christopher Columbus)

Chapter 2: Goals (Henry J. Kaiser)

Chapter 3: Plan (Douglas Mac Arthur)

Chapter 4: Resolute Determination (Sir. Winston Churchill)

Chapter 5: Action (Samuel F.B. Morse)

Chapter 6: Triumph of Perseverance (Cyrus W. Field)

Chapter 7: Victory Out of Defeat (Booker T. Washington)

Chapter 8: Mental Training (Helen Keller)

Chapter 9: Creative Imagination (Leonardo Da Vinci)

Chapter 10: Applied Knowledge (Dr. Orison Swett Marden)

Chapter 11: Friendly Cooperation (Henry Clay)

Chapter 12: Balance Budget (Benjamin Franklin)

Chapter 13: Physical Wholeness (Theodore Roosevelt)

Chapter 14: Personality as a Success Asset (Abraham Lincoln)

Chapter 15: Happiness and Peace of Mind (Dr. Albert Schweitzer)

Subsequently, I will be giving my personal summary of the chapters with focus on the lives of the great personalities included, while you make arrangements to order for your own copy of this must-read book. I hope you find my summary

Have you read the book, "Spirit of Apollo?" Please, let me know your thoughts about the book.

To be continued...

Reference
[Bremer, 1971] Bremer, S. (1971). Spirit of Apollo. Successful Achievement.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.