#PinkReads - All The Books : October 2019

in #book4 years ago

PicsArt_12-04-08.32.39.jpg

I have to admit that, over the past 2 years, my bibliophilic self has truly been blessed and, even though September was a fantastic book month, October was just as fabulous!

Also, let it be known that I have officially run out of shelving space; does that mean I won't buy more books? Of course not, don't be ridiculous!

Jonathan Ball Publishers

October was also the first month that I received review copies directly from publishers and I am super happy and beyond grateful to be on their list.

Jonathan Ball very kindly sent me a well-balanced bundle of books the first time around and I am suitably impressed.

PicsArt_12-04-08.32.00.jpg

A Death In The Medina by James Von Leyden, a thriller set in Marrakech at the start of the hottest Ramadan in history, is the first in the Detective Karim Belkacem series and is rich in atmosphere - Cold Storage by David Koepp (screenwriter of Jurassic Park) takes readers on a terrifying adventure about three strangers who need to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism - Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff is part 3 of a highly acclaimed epic fantasy series; I do still need to read the first 2 books, however - Ian McKellan: A Biography by Garry O'Connor is the only nonfiction title in this stack and will be my first biography - Kingdom Of Souls by Rena Barron is the first in a series about the last witchdoctor that hasn't manifested any magic of her own - Rey And Pals (Star Wars) by Jeffrey Brown is an adorable children's book the "next generation" of the saviors of the galaxy (find my full review here: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/11/20/may-the-force-be-with-you-star-wars-rey-and-pals-by-jeffrey-brown-book-review-37/) - The Girl In Red by Christina Henry, a postapocolyptic retelling of the classic "Little Red Riding Hood" - The Wayward Girls by Amanda Mason (currently reading) is a ghost story told over two timelines and is my choice for my Book Club's book of the month theme - Cilka's Journey by Heather Morris is a sequel to The Tattooist Of Auschwitz, which I also need to read first.

I have a video up on my YouTube channel if you'd like a closer look.

NB Publishers

PicsArt_12-04-08.33.18.jpg

NB Publishers specializes, mostly, in Afrikaans books and, for their first batch, they sent me two Afrikaans books; one for the kiddies and one for the young adults.

Wondersmid by Jessica Townsend; this popular story has been translated for a whole new audience by Jaco Jacobs - Elf Dae In Oxford by Elizabeth Wasserman (Eleven Days In Oxford) is an Afrikaans young adult thriller/mystery about a girl who goes to visit her sister in England.

Bargain Books Factory Sale

Last year, the Bargain Book Factory shop had a "box sale" and this year they wanted to create a little more hype about it, so they invited myself and my bestie Hayley to a PreSale event so that we could talk about it on social media; Hayley and I stuffed as much goodies into our boxes as we possibly could! If you want to see all the books I got, watch my video here.

I also attended the Factory Sale a few days later, at the actual sale, and I was fortunate in being able to pack another box for myself, courtesy of my nephew.

There really are too many to mention, but they are all pictured in the featured image of this post. I am most excited for The Third Kingdom by Terry Goodkind because he is an auto-buy author for me and I have almost all of his books; as well as for Pharaoh by Wilbur Smith as this is the last book in his Ancient Egypt series and I have been wanting it for a long time. Also, I have a video on IGTV via my Instagram page if you'd rather check that out.

If you've read any of these, which of them have you read and how did you find it? Do let me know in the comments below as I am interested. Until next time...

Keep smiling

Follow me :-
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/mr.pink.ink/
Blog : https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuumD6wq7NSNfDwu03mxUNw/featured

Member : @teamsouthafrica #teamsouthafrica
Member : @steemsouthafrica #steemsa

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrpinkink! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!