Serving January Realness! | My First TBR For 2022

in #book2 years ago

Picsart_22-01-18_14-14-47-340.jpg

It's a new year and we can all look forward to new things and I, as usual, am looking forward to all the new books I get to read throughout the year! So. let's begin as we mean to go on!

Bookish Resolutions...

Some of these were made last year; I won't be making any this year...

What I will do, though, is revisit my blog post, Twenty One For '21, to see how well I did with them and I'll totally post my results here. I wouldn't expect miracles though, lol.

Reading Goals...

I barely completed my 2021 GoodReads of 80 books last year; why? Well, let me tell you a story ...Over the years being on GoodReads, I've increased my book total until it seemed that I could read 80 books; which I have done, now, for the past 3 years. The problem this year, though, is that I became a "we" and I no longer had so much me time...

This year, I've decided to lower it to 60, which is more manageable, since I can always increase the amount again.

The Very First TBR (of the year)...

The January theme for the GoodReads group Devour Your TBR is "Jumpstart January" and the aim is to read any books you owned prior to Jan 1, 2022 - this will allow you to make a little for all the new books/ARCs that we get to review this year.

I have many books that are good for this challenge but I have decided on:

  • The Hidden Girl & Other Stories by Ken Liu; this is my last pick for December but I want to make a video review so I will video between each story and see how that goes,
  • The Children Of D'Hara Omnibus by Terry Goodkind; this is essentially 5 books in one - I have book 3 & 5 in separate hardcovers as well so these will be marked individually, too
  • Harlem Shuffle by Colsen Whitehead; this is my latest from JBP and I need to read it within a certain time frame,
  • Punching The Air by Ibi Zoboi; this has been on my TBR for so long ...

Rereads don't count in the above challenge but I've discovered audiobooks on YouTube and I am continuing the 2 series that I've started on there:

And that is how my January is looking; please com let me know, in the comments section below, how your January is looking - making any resolutions, what's on your TBR, etc? Don't be shy; let's be friends. Until next time ...

Happy reading!

Happy reading.

Want more content? :-
Instagram | My Blog | YouTube

Member : @teamsouthafrica #teamsouthafrica