Where There's A Will : November 2019 - Monthly WrapUp

in #book4 years ago

PicsArt_12-26-03.17.15.jpg

Things start getting hectic for me around November, with December always being my busiest month, so reading time, as you can imagine, is a little harder to come by. But, of course, I have a really hard time staying sane without some reading time, so time was made and books were read!

Star Wars: Rey And Pals by Jeffrey Brown

This adorable comic book with striking artwork is a definite must-have for event the littlest fan; big fans, too! Find my full review here: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/11/20/may-the-force-be-with-you-star-wars-rey-and-pals-by-jeffrey-brown-book-review-37/

Death's Mistress by Terry Goodkind

I have been dying to read this book ever since it was first announced and I was super stoked going into this!

In case you didn't know, my all-time favourite series is The Sword Of Truth by this author. I was going through a really bad period, when I was much younger, in my life and Wizard's First Rule literally changed my life; I have been a huge fan ever since and he was the first author to go onto my "Auto-Buy" list.

This is a spinoff series and follows Nathan and Nicci, two of my favourite characters from the series, as they embark on a journey to inform the entire world of the new Lord Rahl.

Let me tell you, I was not disappointed! Adventure, magic, intrigue a la Goodkind was served up on a platter from the get-go; there is one particular story arc that just left me beyond heartbroken, so be warned.

Perfect start to a new series, bringing all the beauty, and horror, of the main series back in all it's glory; I definitely recommend this book, especially if you're a Goodkind fan.

Rating: 4/5

Rise Of The Wolves by J E Reed

Book 2 in The Chronopoint Chronicles continues directly after the events of book 1, Running With The Wolves, and is a thrill a minute; find my full review here: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/12/02/rise-of-the-wolves-by-j-e-reed-book-review-38/

2019-12-27 03.00.17 1.jpg

The Outcast by Taran Matharu

This prequel to The Summoner series follows the story of one the more prominent side characters, Arcturus, and is full of all the things we loved in the main series, but also different enough to stand out as a separate story.

Rating: 4/5

Harry Potter & The Cursed Child: The Journey

An incredible coffee table book full of behind the scenes photos and design sketches; a definite must-have for any Potterhead; find my full review here: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/12/22/hp-the-cursed-child-the-journey-by-harry-potter-theatrical-productions-book-review-39/


#PinkReads Pick Of The Month

Catwoman: Soulstealer by Sarah J Maas

PicsArt_12-27-10.46.16.jpg

I was first introduced to Sarah J Maas's writing with The Throne Of Glass series; by the time she wrote Kingdom Of Ash there was a marked improvement in her style and this style is what carries over in Catwoman.

This is Selena Kyle's story and it follows her life as she is transitioning between periods of her life, but always fighting, moving forward towards her goal - her sister.

During her escapades as a cat burglar, Selena encounters various other persons and, at one point, has to create an alliance with them.

There was also a superhero in this story that I hadn't heard of before, which is funny because my brother is the Marvel / DC freak....

As an added bonus for me, there is a strong LGBT theme with one of the side characters which I enjoyed; this also created a new dimension in a certain dynamic.

Action, high tech gadgets, suspense, romance, explosions, girl power all feature in this awesome read and will definitely keep you and your teenagers entertained!

Of the 3 books in this series that I have read so far, this is definitely my favourite one and now I just need Superman to complete the set.

4-stars.jpg


Have you read any of these? I'd love to hear what you thought of them so let me know in the comments below. Also, let me know what all you read during November; I'm always looking for a good read. Until next time...

Keep smiling

Follow me :-
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/mr.pink.ink/
Blog : https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuumD6wq7NSNfDwu03mxUNw/featured

Member : @teamsouthafrica #teamsouthafrica
Member : @steemsouthafrica #steemsa