You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Which book made the biggest impact on your life?

in #book5 years ago

Great choices you have.

My Top 2 choices:

  1. The Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King
    I read this book when I was twenty one years old. It is the only novel I ever read in one setting. I couldn't put it down. But what makes this book so important to me, is that it changed my life. From the moment I put the book down, I knew what I wanted to do for rest of my life. I knew from that moment I wanted to spend my life writing fiction.

  2. The Richest Man In Babylon by George S. Clason
    The book was a life changer as well. I read this book every year. It taught the rules of money. Like the 5 Laws of Gold, and the 7 Cures to a Lean Purse. It taught me principles I had never thought of. Ever since I had read that book, I have never been broke. It is a must read for anyone.

There are several more books, but those two books actually change my life, and my way of thinking. Those two books literally change me and my mindset. The impact they had on my life is huge, and I can't begin to even describe the impact.

Nice article! Good Job! I love articles that make me think.

Sort:  

Thanks for the 'token of appreciation' @shanedustin . This gives a lot of encouragement to receive approval from a writer of your caliber. Even though I am unable to delegate majority of my time, I have started practicing creative writing so that I can slip a story or two in between these articles.
You are doing really good so far on STEEM blockchain even though most of your work have not got the visibility it deserve. Just don't lose hope as the price of token is on relatively lower side.
By the way the manner of narration of your current serial story ' The green door' is a tad similar to the way of writing of @johnjgeddes . He is a fantastic writer and almost all his stories have very strong feminine characters. I suggest you also follow him as you will see some of his great posts have earned only few cents. Also keep involving yourself in other STEEM communities like Steemit Bloggers and the steemSTEM community.
Best of Luck for your future on this wonderful platform...!!!!

Your welcome. I love reading your articles. Thy make me think. And thanks for the encouragement. and i'm going to check out @johnjgeddes, if he is a writer, he's got my support. Keep up the good work.

I am actually going to start reading 'The Richest Man...' this week. I had read the abstract of the book few years back and then moved it to my 'going to read ' list for some reason. As far as I remember Babylon was an extinct settlement but a prosperous one for is time and the book is based on the financial practices of that civilization.

Please tell me more about The Eyes of Dragon as I have read very few books by Stephen King. (not for any particular reason though)

Th Richest Man in Babylon is an awesom book. The laws it teaches works for all times, in any era, for the laws of money are the same at any time, wise people have taken advantage of these laws and prospered. Its a good read, the only other book that compares to it is Rich Dad Poor dad.

The Eyes of the Dragon is fantasy book, and actually a YA book he written for his daughter. Its hard to to explain, but it is one of Stephen Kings best works that doesn't get enough credit. If you like fantasy, its a must read. But that book changed my life. I knew from that day I wanted to spend rest of my life writting even if I never make a penny. Don't get me wrong I have always been interested in writing since I was a child, but that book told me I could be a writer, and how to tell a story. I still have that book I read all those years ago. I have it wrapped in clear plastic and it sets on my shelf. To me that book is priceless.