Lost On Earth: Day 2

in #book6 years ago (edited)

# Lost on Earth: Day 2

All I remember happening was that I heard blood curdling screams, throaty roars from the dinosaur-like creatures, and then me blacking out. What truly happened? Were we attacked? What is this strange place where I lay my head? I wake in a place where no light seems to penetrate; where only pain and anguish exist. The air smelt musty, slightly like sulphur, and the odour burnt my sensitive nostrils.

Many questions run through my mind never stopping, never leaving me alone. When I tried to rise, just an inch; my dark cocoon was broken open and a shrewd light entered my eyes, and what surrounded me was anything but paradise. The trees looked horribly twisted and anguished- the leaves had faint traces of joy and growth but had been dried out and hung limply on the shrivelled tree branches. The sound of the songbirds was gone, the beautiful bursting pods of the blooming lilies, roses, dandelions; gone.

Out of the blue, a raging flame was lit, the sparks prancing away from the hearth and landing on the parched ground: This definitely wasn’t home and setting up camp would hurt. In the distance I could hear the faintest sound, it was the river! Slowly and carefully, I unloaded myself out of the dark little box, cautious to not lose any vital cover. Suddenly, the box was lifted up and I stumbled back into it, my head hit a particularly hard section of wood; black dots formed in the brink of my vision telling me to black out, and so I did- falling into a galloping horse’s position and finally losing conscience.

#lostonearth

Check the whole story below:

#1 Lost on Earth: Day 1