Crime scene-Do not cross

in #book8 years ago (edited)

   Since I was a little girl, reading was one of my biggest pleasures. This time when  I go to bed and grab my book is still one of my happiest moments. Although, I am interested into any category, the last  years I prefer crime books. I love suspence and mystery  and I get really pissed off when I manage to uncover the killer, which means that the plot and the facts make it very obvious. 

   Almost two years ago, I discovered Jo Nesbo. He is a Norwegian writer and if you ask me, he is one of the best crime writers worlwide. His books have sold more than 23.000.000 copies and have been translated into over 40 languages, giving him many awards. Jo Nesbø is also the main vocalist and songwriter for the Norwegian rock band "Di Derre". His first book, "The Bat", was published in 1997  and is the first part of a ten-so far- book series. The main character is Harry Hole,  an eccentric and cult police officer with the Oslo Crime Squad, who deals with his own deamons. So far, the series  consists of ten self contained books, that can be  read independently, but I suggest you read them  in a row. As it was recently  announced a new Harry Hole book is about to be published on May 2017. 

   The first Harry Hole book I read is  "The Snowman". It is the seventh part of the series and it literally managed to blow my mind. I was excited by the masterstroke writing and narrative. The plot features the great talent of Jo Nesbo and the best part is that no one  can predict neither the plot nor the killer's identity. When the book came to its end, I was so excited so I promised myself that Harry Hole series would be a part of my personal library. The next day I bought the first book of the series, "The Bat", which comparing to "The Snowman" is not such a masterpiece, but I think it deserves a chance. As I started going on with the rest Harry Hole books, I could not help but admit that Jo Nesbo has really managed to play with my mind. His books offer  not only enjoyment and moments of suspence, but some serious knowledge. As I was  reading  his books, I often found my self doing some internet research and reading about historical facts, that I never bothered to deal with, or about simple references that made wonder: "Really? I had no idea!". 

   Jo Nesbo has also written some other books, just as good as his Harry Hole novels, like the "The Son" and "Headhunters". "Headhunters" was made into a Norwegian movie, while a movie based on "Snowman" and directed by Martin Scorsese, is about to be released in 2017.  If you are a fan of crime books, then you already know him. If you did not have the chance, then I really recommend him to you. You will be amazed!

Harry Hole series

  1. The Bat (1997)
  2. Cockroaches (1998)
  3. Tthe Redbreast (2000)
  4. Nemesis (2002)
  5. The Devil's Star (2003)
  6. The Redeemer (2005)
  7. The Snowman (2007)
  8. The Leopard (2009)
  9. Phantom (2011)
  10. Police (2013)


  • Headhunters (2008)
  • The Son (2014)
  • Blood on snow (2015)
  • Midnight Sun (2015)



 "I am the world’s greatest living crime writer. Jo Nesbø is a man who is snapping at my heels like a rabid pitbull poised to take over my mantle when I dramatically pre-decease him"
James Ellroy 

Sort:  

Congratulations @stefanialexis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!