You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Man's Search For Meaning - Viktor Frankl (A Review)

in #bookreview6 years ago

I thoroughly enjoyed this review, @arwinzen. As an ethics professor, I frequently engage in discussions such as the meaning of life, happiness, and existentialism. I'm surprised that Frankl's understanding of the importance of finding meaning to life rather than happiness didn't lead him to the book of Ecclesiastes, where Solomon succinctly declares:

"Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter:
Fear God and keep His commandments, for this is man’s all.
For God will bring every work into judgment, including every secret thing, whether good or evil." - Ecclesiastes 12:13-14

Man's Search for Meaning sounds like one I would really like to read. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Thanks for reading! Ethics is something that I'm really interested in as well, will def check your blog out.

Ecclesiastes is one of the most profound books in the Old Testament. I pick it up whenever I need a reminder that life is finite and but a vapor. Thanks for the insightful comment and you definitely should pick up Man's Search for Meaning when you have the chance.