You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE SIMPLE WAYS OF GOD: DIVORCE - An Original Book From @narrowminded Released EXCLUSIVELY on STEEMIT

in #books7 years ago (edited)

The vows say "forsaking all others, keep thee only unto her/him, so long as ye both shall live". My ex did not "forsake all other women". In fact he insisted he was going to keep a mistress and I should be content in my position of the wife. He BROKE the marriage contract, not me. Therefore I did not need to still keep the part of the contract that said "till death."
I refused to stay even though he wanted me to. I filed for divorce, not him. Some think because I left that I caused the divorce; however, I never broke the contract.

Sort:  

I know that I gave him way more chances to repent and change than he deserved. I didnt want to, but God spoke to my heart to put aside my pain and offer him a chance to repair the marriage. He refused. I divorced him, lost all my money and my house and savings to him, and eventually remarried and started over and had children.
I have ZERO guilt. I studied and know scripture and God support this.
I can't imagine not having had the opportunity to have children and a family because of my ex's ridiculous sexual behaviour.

I thought about "forsaking all others" a bit more and what it means.
It's possible that we could both be right -- that one or two sexual betrayals might not result in "forsaking all others" IF the guilty party actually feels guilty and repents and is forgiven and given the chance to redeem themselves and tries to make the marriage work.
But when one party insists that they will continue on with an affair while they are married, and that they don't feel guilty -- then most clearly and definitely they have not "forsaken all others." They have absolutely broken the marriage contract and vows. And the offended spouse has the right (I might say duty) to leave that horrible situation.