You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE SIMPLE WAYS OF GOD: DIVORCE - An Original Book From @narrowminded Released EXCLUSIVELY on STEEMIT

in #books7 years ago

Marriage is a contract.
An example of a contract is: You pay me $900/month and I rent you the house. If you quit paying $900/month, you get booted out of the house.
So the marriage contract could be intrepretated as "If you bring another person into this marriage to continue on an affair, thus "forsaking" me, then I will not need to continue on in this marriage.
I also made a verbal contract with my ex well before marriage, that if he ever cheated on me that I would leave.

Sort:  

Actually, rightly viewed, marriage is a covenant. A covenant binds the covenanter to their vows, irrespective of whether the other party honors theirs.
Remember how God made Abraham sleep during the Abrahamic covenant? It was one sided, though God did place certain conditions on some aspects of it.
I'm not in complete agreement with this article, but wanted to add this important distinction in light of your comment. To be clear, I do consider fornication and abandonment grounds for divorce and remarriage to be permissible after each.