Reading List for February

in #books2 years ago

I wanted to start reading some books that have been on my bookshelf for a while now. I'm an avid reader and my room is full of hundreds of books, a lot of them still unread.
I don't usually have a list or plan or anything regarding what I'm going to read next. I usually choose my books spontaneously, but this time I decided to pick five books that I am going to read in the next weeks and to tell you about them. I will be giving you a review of each in a seperat post once I've finished it.dsc00834.jpg
These are the five books I'm reading/ going to read:
The steep approach to Garbadale by scottish writer Iain Banks (in english). I love Banks' sci-fi stuff, which he is most famous for, but he also wrote non sci-fi novels like this one. I wonder what's going to happen in it and whether it's as good as the The Culture Series.
dsc00836.jpg
![dsc00837.jpg]
The letters to Lucilius by roman philospher *Lucius Annaeus Seneca * in german and latin. Seneca is one of the most famous writers of stoic philosophie. I don't agree with all of his ideas, but he does say a lot of interesting stuff, that can still be applied 2000 years later.
()
![dsc00840.jpg]
Les récrés du petit Nicolas by Jean-Jacques Sempé and René Goscinny in french. These are just simple kids stories in want wo read mainly to improve my french. They were written by the guy who illustrated the Asterix comics and illustrated by a certain Sempé.
()
![dsc00842.jpg]
Pompeji by Robert Harris in german. The only thing I've read by Robert Harris to date is his novel Fatherland set in an alternative universe where the Nazis won WWII. But this is a completly historical novel (nothing to do with alternative universes) about the eruption of the Vesuv. Like with Banks, I don't know quite what to expect.
()
And last but not least: Michael der Finne by finnish writer Mika Waltari in german.
Waltari is hardly known in the rest of the world, but in finnland he is a national treasor. If you ask me, he writes the best historical novels (good luck, Robert Harris). This is about a young man (Michael) in the 1500s who is born in finnland and travels through europe, studying in Paris, witnessing whitch hunts, the German Peasants' War and much more. It's over 800 pages long and only the first of two books about the fictional life of Michael Pelzfuss.
dsc00844.jpg

This has been a long post, so thank you for reading it. I'm looking forward to letting you know how I liked the books and if I would recommend them. :)