You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ghost Versus the Machine: Session 10 of the Steemit Book Club, plus details for session 11

in #books7 years ago (edited)

Wow.....population of Dublin was only 500,000 peope-ish, so if you didn't have TV, radio, or an iphone birds of a feather flocking together, i reckon you would bump heads with the same class of folk.

Apparently Guinness is full of preservatives? I don't care it taste great. I was once told, swallowed whole and have never checked the facts as it sounds great, if you drink 19 pints of Guinness you have enough protein not to need food..... i think 9 would have me mopping the floor with my jaw.

So i read this line and i proper cracked a giggle. (808) The Most Spiritual Snuffbox to Make the Most Devout Souls Sneeze. ..... It is an age of exhausted whoredom groping for its god... What the f#ck is this line in reference too..... The start of this dialogue here starts with - (800) She lies laid in stark stiffness----who is she? --so i tracked it back-- to another her---and the next is (668) Ann, ages back and then, i read more, and got lost and made connections and i don't know what illogical mythical patterns i am making...i just dig that line.... and all the symbols it make my mind think about…..and then i reread...this (763) Just mix up a mixture of theologicophilolological. Hahaha...sure, i have no idea what is happening, but it is mystical. ...this is then linked back, (795) Buck says we are getting mixed....

I also found some translations....(775) Pogue mabone! Acushla macbree!---- means!!! Wait for it kiss my ass. my sweet heart, linking back to the previous chapters..... we are destroyed, could be an Odessey link... losing the men to the Scylla???--a stretch---- but maybe??

Then (815) it says he lay back, like the woman laid out dead at (800)

.....anyway.....my brain is MELTING! .I watched Hypnernoralisation by Adam Curtis the other day and have been wondering about how culture is formed......it feels like i am looking through a kaleidoscope on LSD and seeing the post modern world unfold before my eye on paper in this tree back. Giddy up.

My buddy and I hitch hiked around Ireland in the name of James Joyce in 2010. I had never read his book, but we needed a purpose……. Wish I had read some before that madness.

Sort:  

This chapter reminded my of Portrait of an Artist quite a bit.... Stevie D and his deep waxings.

Just mix up a mixture of theologicophilolological.

Love that line, it is so fitting.