Auto-Buy Authors: Old & New Favourites

in #books5 years ago

Hi Steemians!

Since I recently shared some authors whose work I've lost interest in I thought it would only make sense to also share some of my favourite authors whose books I will buy at the drop of a hat!

In some of theses cases I don't own all of their books so they're not always literal auto-buy authors, but authors who I really trust to write a good book!

Who are those kinds of authors for you? Share some in the comments, and maybe I can find some new favourites as well!

Happy reading!
xx
ivymuse

Sort:  

My auto-buys...

Daniel Abraham, of course. The last book of the Long Price Quartet remains the only book to ever make me cry. The Dagger and the Coin is a magnificent epic. And The Expanse, w Ty Franck as James S.A. Corey, just plain old is the best sci-fi on tv and if I can't say it's the best sci-fi in print it's only because I don't read nearly enough print science-fiction.

Susanna Clarke, if she ever puts out another book. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell is a masterpiece; it baffles me still that it has exerted so little influence on fiction.

Hmm! Who else. Robert Caro, the writer of The Power Broker and the still-incomplete Years of Lyndon Johnson, a project which has been ongoing for four decades! and the fifth volume is still years away! and Caro is 83! I don't actually own any of his books, as I read Years by way to the Library, but having spent ~2 months reading all four complete volumes of Years, I am determined to purchase it eventually, as well as The Power Broker, and his very recently announced Working.

Hmm, hmm! Who else. I'd love to say George RR Martin but I not only need to re-read the Song of Ice and Fire I also need to read both volumes of Dreamsongs and some of his other non-fantasy work before I could say "yes, I will purchase whatever you write."

Of Paul Auster I have only read 4 3 2 1 and the novella Travels in the Scriptorium but give me a couple more books of his to read and I'll probably put him on that list, too.

I do believe that covers everyone that I might possibly consider a must-buy, now or in the near future.