Bounty: What books to read?

in #books5 years ago

I am looking to read a few more books this year about our cryptocurrency and blockchain space.

I would love to hear some suggestions.

A few years ago there were really no books, the first one I really liked was the one from andreas. It got me a real good understanding of how bitcoin works at its core.

Books don’t have to be this technical, but I am looking for high quality knowlege to feed my brain. Any good ideas?

Sort:  

It's not even a full fledged book but only 29 pages. But I urge you to check out HASHGRAPH CONSENSUS: DETAILED EXAMPLES by Leemon Baird who I consider to be the greatest mind in crypto (even bigger than Ohad Asor and certainly ahead of @dan) Hashgraph is the only thing that I know of that can make EOS look old. The project is already valued at 6 Billion USD. Thanks to SEC only accredited investors could get in.

You can read the PDF here: http://leemon.com/papers/2016b2.pdf

About Hashgraph: https://steemhunt.com/@vimukthi/hedera-hashgraph-asynchronous-bft-faster-and-scalable-than-eos-privacy
https://medium.com/hashgraph/7-industry-disrupting-dapps-building-on-hedera-24716ff08e84

Leemon Baird already has 8 Patents and here is him giving a quick crash course which is still the best DLT crash course I've seen

It's not directly blockchain related but Zero to One: Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future by Peter Thiel is The definitive book on startups. Period. It's practically a bible for for startups as Atlas Shrugged is a bible for capitalists. At least check out some quotes: https://www.goodreads.com/work/quotes/25332940-zero-to-one-notes-on-start-ups-or-how-to-build-the-future

Hope these two will help :-)

thanks!!

There is a quite new book written in German language:

http://bitcoin-buch.org/

The Author is Christoph Bergmann, who also provides the bitcoin blog since several years:

https://bitcoinblog.de/2018/10/19/25-monate-danach-reaktionen-auf-mein-buch-ueber-bitcoin/

Of course you can pay it in crypto :-)

@knircky has set 5.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

This post has received a 6.25% upvote from @kennybrown!



Want more views to reach your posts? Try BlockGators Army Advertising Network

If you like what I do please consider delegating 100+ steempower to @kennybrown. If you would like to join you can also send 2 Steem to @kennybrown for a 30-day subscription. All revenue will be used to increase the steempower on a monthly basis.

Rich dad poor dad sollte man gelesen haben 😉

Jupp, aber habe ich schon vor 20 jahren :)

A book that you should read, which is not necessarily "about cryptocurrencies" but about decentralization is called "The Starfish and the Spider: The Unstoppable Power of Leaderless Organizations" by Ori Brafman, Rod A. Beckstrom.

Start reading it for free: http://a.co/1edqnyI

It will open your eyes about cryptocurrencies!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey there, great question!
There are a couple of outstanding books that helped me greatly to find my way through the cryptic and mysterious swamps of Bitcoin and ergo blockchain technology. I think,

Blockchain Revolution by Don and Alex Tapscott is the best book for blockchain space

2018-11-04_084334.jpg

Great book to get a thorough understanding of how blockchain is impacting a lot of different industries. This book is more business-oriented and showcases examples of how blockchain can change the business world. Good book, but for my taste sometimes somewhat too dry. But that’s just me.

I picked this one up myself:

Screen Shot 2018-11-03 at 9.22.09 PM.png

I have on my stack to read but I was interested in it given the reference to other aspects of blockchain in addition to some technical ones. It seemed like a good all around book to have.

Not about blockchain directly, but an excellent book that changes how you think about things:
"The Mystery of Capital: Why Capitalism Triumphs in the West and Fails Everywhere Else"
by Hernando de Soto

Essentially de Soto talks about the poor having the ability to capitalise their assets - which is easy in the west. The opportunities for blockchain, as a shared store of truth, is obvious.

I think this one is best “Mastering Bitcoin: Unlocking digital cryptocurrencies”, by Andreas Antonopoulos

Hi friend, I also had a hard time understanding the blockchain system, and I did it by sharing information in various forums and Discord groups. But sometimes I was recommended "The Age Of Criptocurrency " written by Paul Vigna and Michael J. Casey. It's a book that explains very well everything related to Bitcoin, blockchain technology and cryptomedas, also does not broaden a little vision on what can become bitcoin one day.

I hope it has been of great help to you,

Greetings!

I've only read 2 books on cryptocurrency only because I saw the author Andreas Antonopoulos on the Joe Rogan podcast which I watch religiously. The books are mastering bitcoin and the internet of money

It really helped me get to grips with the tech and the economic issues this new industry is build on and will face going foreward

I have found youtube videos to be very helpful for this purpose

Blockchain: Discover the Technology

This post has received a 5.00% upvote from @aiyanna!

This is an extra way we have decided to give back and award serious bloggers!

Feel free to leave a comment or suggestion to improve the efforts of this bot. Delegation and donations will be used to increase steem power.

Hello @knircky! We've checked our email and didn't receive anything from you about contest partnership. Please join our discord server link: https://discord.gg/bycktuE and we will create a channel for partnership.

I was always a fan of doctor Seuss :P

To be honest I am not much of a book reader .... but if the your looking to pass the time I would recommend watching American Horror Story. Its hit and miss with most people ... they either love it or hate it. The first 2 seasons are very very good.

Each new season is a new story ...... I stopped watching after the 3rd because as the seasons go on they get much worse in quality. HOWEVER ....... I managed to catch an episode or two of the latest season and it looks like they are back on track so I many need to start watching again.

Horror Genre .... but has more components then horror.

I liked "Gödel, Escher, Bach". Someone lent it from me and I never got it back :(

The Internet of Money

by Andreas Antonopoulos

The Internet of Money essencially takes a higher-level approach to crypto, breaking down the ways that cryptocurrency can change our lives. I consider it especially interesting because of that, a theme that we are always talking about here on steemit.
Antonopoulos developed the material for the book while traveling and giving presentations around the world.

This post has received a 15.00% upvote from @teevmoore!

I am sorry but I don't know any book written on cryptocurrencies.

lol then why even bother commenting?

To get a piece of pie somehow

not happening