Center of Kota Kinabalu

in #borneo7 years ago

Here are some photos I took at The Official Marker for The Center of Kota Kinabalu.

This Marker was officially gazetted by The Sabah Government in 2011.

The position turned out to be just in front of The Sabah Tourism Board's Tourist Information Centre at 51 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu. This building was built in 1916. It was used by the Printing Office, followed by The Treasury, Town Board, State Attorney and then as our Post Office. This was one of three buildings left standing after World War 2 (the wooden shops were all destroyed). The Japanese had occupied North Borneo and the town (then known as Jesselton) was bombed by the Allied Airforce (Australian, British and US) prior to liberation.

Gazetted as a Historic Building in 1991, it was done up as The Tourism Information Centre in that year.

I posted this in my personal photo blog in 2011. I will bring over some of the other postings in future.

Sort:  

I walked right past that building, but did not see the marker. What a pity!

By the way, for your tags, if you type "kota-kinabalu" it will keep the two parts of the name together, and you can add another tag!

I took the North Borneo Railway steam train while I was there. It was fun.

Glad you enjoyed Sabah n Borneo. You took the train to Papar. Beaufort is the last stop. I was born there (1957). I took the coal burning steam trains in the 60s!

Very cool! I enjoyed the trip, and we were blessed with pleasant weather.

When I have a chance, I will share my photos here.

I was born in 1956. :-)

Yes, I'm loving Kota kinaballu's sunset too.

Thank your posting.

I'm following you.