Sort:  

It's definitely pretty hard to understand unless you are an insider. You would think it would be quite easy to just copy and past an explanation paragraph into each of these posts...

I think and I am still also learning so bear with me. But if someone puts up a crap post and voted on it themselves and had other accounts to as well, , they can get a part of the reward pool for it in addition they are just self voting to pay themselves.

I think what this post refers to is that after 7 days you cannot be paid anymore so apparently some people will wait until the very end of that period and then vote. I do not know what difference this makes. Perhaps you cannot see who voted on what after the payout has been made so they can hide the fact that hey are self voting.

Again just guessing here. Thanks.

Sounds like as logical an explanation as any, thanks.

This does make sense. I understand that voting right before the 7 day period is suspicious, but I also don't see what's wrong with it. People should be able to vote on what they want (even if it is worthless/greedy), because Steemit is supposed to be a free platform. I think this shows how 'free' it really is.

Thank you for your answer :)

I agree and this is the cost of freedom. Some people will use the rules to help themselves. Thanks