A wonderful Sunday!

Thank you @ace108 for hosting #beautifulsunday and thank you @c0ff33a for hosting #SublimeSunday.

#bouldersunday by @shasta

When Wisconsin was still a territory, "Big Rock" served as a landmark for Indians, early settlers and traders.

image

image

While my family was visiting this weekend we went out on a drive to see if we could find any Pelicans and we stopped to explore the rock.

image

In the days before bridges, this massive rock was located near a shallow part of the Rock River that could be forded safely. This is most likely the rock that the Rock River and Rock County were named after.

image

image

This enormous rock -- complete with a small graffiti filled cave -- is now within the city limits.

image

image

image

Go here to enter

Shadow Photo Contest-Round 68- Colorful Shadows


Posted with eSteem

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
eSteem.app | ‍GitHub | YouTube
Telegram | Discord
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

eSteem; mobile and desktop client for Steem

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

Awesome! Too bad there is all of that graffiti inside the cave!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just wait 500 years and they will call it petroglyphs!
Man has been writing on rock for centuries!

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.75$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Wow what a cool ancient place Big Rock is! Can just imagine
all the many people and critters over the ages passing by and
stopping there. The cave is interesting, wonder what's under
the modern petroglyphs. Ancient rock art was more for
timekeeping and navigation. Todays markings are perhaps
rock selfies, kilroy was here lol
The third photo from the top looks somewhat like
a alligator with the cave as its eye.
Awesome photographs of this wonderful place @melinda010100!
So glad you had such a beautiful day there before the rains.

Happy boulder Sunday 2U! :-)

You gotta love a rock with a good story!

The graffiti is definitely rock selfies. I read once that many of the petroglyphs may have been recreations of facial tattoos or the style of paint markings a person decorated his face with. Since there was no written language it was a way of showing that they had attended a gathering of the tribes or important meeting.

You see, this is why a local person's knowledge beats all. This massive rock has influenced the whole area. From initially being a safe place to cross the river to:-

This is most likely the rock that the Rock River and Rock County were named after.

Looking at the rock more closely it looks like sedimentary rock. It was once the sea bed or a lake bed and you are right.

In 500 years the graffitti will be looked at in wonder and awe. Who wre these artists/humans? What message were they trying to convey?

Or is it as simple as some people wanting to leave their mark to show others that they existed?

You are exactly right. 18,000 years ago, at the end of the last ice age, Wisconsin was covered by a prehistoric lake. All of this limestone formed and is the predominant rock found throughout the state.

I bet it's a great place for fossil hunting? Plenty of Mammoth's for sure.

Nice rocks! I’m liking the idea of #bouldersunday but there are not so many boulders near me so it might be a once every so often thing.

The cave is fascinating though - and the question has to be does the graffiti ruin it or enhance it. To be honest I think the cave is unique because of the graffiti- it might be jumbled and random but it is unique.

Amazing and informative, thank you for sharing this as your #sublimesunday

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! I agree about the graffiti. I don't find it any more offensive than ancient petroglyphs!

So beautiful rock formations! Nature is really a beautiful thing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Stunning photos, dear @melinda0100

Amazing rocks . I once was in North Ossetia there too very much it was pleasant to me.


source

Wow! Great looking rocks! Thanks for showing me these. They are beauties!

Modern cavemen :-)

Hahahaha! For sure!

That is incredible wow! was it cave too?

Yes.. But the cave is small. Only about 10 feet deep.

Oh I see; still enough to hide from the rain 😉

Yes it would have provided shelter to long ago travelers on the river

Or to keep warm with a little fire during the winter!

Yes I pretty sure sure it did.

Congratulations @melinda010100! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Cool rock and info about fording!

Thanks, the shallow water may be why the Pelicans are hanging out there! Better fishing for them.

Impressive rocks! Enjoy your time with the family!

I love having them all here! My normally silent house comes alive!

Oh, I can understand you... I miss my loved once so much. I go visit them in 4 days, can hardly wait ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you have to travel far to be with them?

About 650 km. For our roads... it is far. About 7 hours of attentive driving. But I will have 3 days off

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a long drive! L hope you have a marvelous time!

Me too! Thank you 🎈🌞❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow it's amazing

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! I appreciate your comments!

Hmm i never knew about big rock, have to visit too bad about the grafitti.

If you do come into Janesville, let me know and we can do a mini meet up!

Hello..!!
@melinda010100
Wow and Wow...!!!
Fantastic Boulders and photos. I would love to explore the cave..!!!
Amazing it's right in city limits..!!! Quite the attraction.
:D

It is more a hole in the rock than it is a cave! It only goes back 10 feet so there is not much to explore.

The cave does look like will provide good shelter in the olden times.

I'm sure it was used often by travelers on the river.

Looks beautiful and has something of historical value. However, unfortunately I saw the graffiti that polluted this beautiful cave.
Thanks for this, My friend
Enjoy a weekend with family

I rather like the graffiti! Colorful and creative wall art! 😉🎨

Demasiada presencia natural en las fotos@melinda 010100,esas rocas bien elaboradas por la naturaleza que es la madre de las artes,una me recuerda con su entrada a un monumento natural que se encuentra en el Estado Monagas llamado "la cueva del guacharo",una belleza sin igual,muy lindo todo amiga para un gran dia como es el Domingo,gracias por el apoyo y mil bendiciones,saludos desde venezuela ,margarita.

¡La naturaleza hace el mejor arte! Espero que tengas un domingo maravilloso!

❤️❤️❤️☕️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I loved how you captured the yellow flower in the photo

Thanks, it is a dandelion. They are blooming everywhere right now.

beautiful photography, nice entry ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I am glad you like it!

Now those are boulders!! lol
Very nice!

Thanks! Did you know that many areas of Wisconsin are on the Niagara Escarpment? It is east of me, but it almost makes us neighbors!

Yes I did, I researched it once when I did a post about the escarpment...way back when...
So yea your right we are neighbors

Posted using Partiko iOS

It certainly was not anything we learned about in school. My grandson, who loves maps and geography, had no idea about the Escarpment, so he left today with a research project.

Good, I always thought it ended in Tobermory...till I posted on Steemit...lol

Enjoyed your boulder photos and the story.

Hope all is well your way.

Thanks! It has been a rough week, but is much improved today! Having my son and his family here this weekend has helped!

That's a good rock! The graffiti isn't even all that obnoxious. I kind of like the colors. It would be nice if people didn't spray paint historical sites though. lol

I like the colors, too. Man has been painting on rocks for centuries!

My favorite "recent"rock painting is when they paint out the words with blocks of paint. I like the squares and rectangles. There's a lot of that on the jetties not far from my house. It gives a me a new idea for photos! Yay. Thank you :)

I can;t wait to see them!

Buenas tardes amiga @melinda010100 deseo que se encuentre bien, linda imagen de esa cueva dentro de la roca, y el paisaje que conforma la roca con el agua y el puente y esa extraña flor en esa piedra. Que tenga un feliz domingo amiga.

¡Gracias Edgar! Espero que estés bien también. La flor amarilla se llama diente de león. Son muy prolíficos, y crecen por todas partes aquí.

Cool looking geographical feature, that rock! That looks like a fun outing, and the weather seems to have cooperated. No more snow!

Too bad people had to graffiti it, but they seem to do that to everything they can get their paws on. The waterfalls here are also "decorated," although people carve into the soft sandstone rather than use paint.

It was a fun day out! I love having all the family around. It makes my otherwise quiet home burst with energy! And Ithe weather was perfect. Looks like now we are in for another rainy week.

The graffiti doesn't bother me, it is certainly not permanent. There was some carving, but people have been doing that for centuries. When it gets old enough we turn it into a National Monument, and call them petroglyphs.

My dear Melinda I am so happy that you spend a good time with your family❤

It was a great weekend! I'm always sad when they leave. But if all goes well they will be back in 2 weeks!

Two weeks go by quickly. I'm glad you have so much love from your family

They plan on helping me get all the flowers planted in the pots on the deck when they come next time.

That's a good plan, I know that flowers will make you happy

What a wonderful discovery they look like jigsaw puzzle rocks ready to collapse ...lol :)

Limestone does look like the pieces have been fitted together! The various formations are always interesting to see

Yes you are right looks like a lego set very interesting...lol :)

These rocks/ boulders are massive and the name of the place certainly suits the area, Melinda. Great shots. glad you had a lovely outing with your family. 💕

Thanks! It was a great weekend. I wanted my daughter-in-law to see Maudie, so I watched it a second time. She loved it too and now wants to travel to the Maritime Provences.

I’m glad your D-I-L loved the movie too. ❤️. If she was in Halifax, Nova Scotia the Maud Lewis Exhibition is a permanent attraction at the Art Gallery.

She has added it to the places she wants to travel to.

Howdy Melinda! very cool rock you guys have up there! I like that cave too. I bet the local tribes had a name for that formation didn't they?

I bet they did, too, but of course that knowledge is lost to us now.

that's such a cool place and had to be significant landmark in the old days.
How has your day gone? I've been outside mowing and stuff like that all day
because it's supposed to start raining tomorrow and rain for a week.

In other words, Wisconsin weather!

Wisconsin weather, indeed. We had two beautiful days over the weekend and we even ate outdoors on the back porch while the kids were here. But now we're right back to cold and rain. I've been sitting here cuddled under a blanket most of the afternoon.

howdy again Melinda! Well when it's cold and rainy I think that's the best thing to do. Not that you couldn't find something else to do but it's a good thing we have Steemit for winters and rainy weather. If all else fails we have Steemit!

It is my favorite way to spend a rainy day... but sitting on the deck in the sunshine with my camera and making comments is best!

haha! well, yes if you have your camera and laptop or phone then working on steemit on your deck in sunny weather sounds kind of like a dream come true!

Congratulations @melinda010100!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 7 with 64 comments

Natures rugged beauty and what a beautiful sot it is, thanks for sharing

Man, oh man! What a massive rock complete with a cave and enriched with history. Love it!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.

@melinda010100 cool cave in the side of the mountain. we have some of those up north.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 31.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @melinda010100! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)