THE STEEMIT USERNAME/TAG SEARCH ENGINE - 500 SBD BOUNTY PAID

in #bounty7 years ago (edited)

Steemgig Completed! Bounty Paid!


Five days ago I put out a bounty. I put the bounty out because I wanted an easy way to search through the content of users on steemit. I thought, if there was a way to look up every post that a certain username had posted in a specific tag, then it would be a lot easier to find posts on certain subjects.

Here is the link to the original bounty post

In the end, I learned about a whole bunch of tools that I was unaware of and even was able to get the specific one that I wanted. A big thanks to @kasperfred for creating this tool : https://steem-tag-search.herokuapp.com/

HERE IS A QUICK VIDEO OF ME EXPLORING THE TOOL


My internet was 3G at the time, so the amount of time that it took to load some of the photos was on my end.

QUICK RUNDOWN OF THE FEATURES


Although the application is not yet optimized, it still gives me the results that I was looking for. If you type in a username and leave the tag section open when you click search, a display of all the tags that steemit username ever posted in will be displayed, starting with the most frequently used. By clicking on a specific tag, it will pull up every post from that user in that tag.

If you already know what tag you want to search, (For example - If you want to only looks at "gardening" posts from @papa-pepper) the enter the tag of your choice into the tag section after entering the username. This will pull up all the posts made in that tag from that user.



Specifics Displayed:


  • All posts from the user in that tag
  • Sorted in order from most recent to oldest
  • Cover image of the post
  • Post title
  • Number of upvotes
  • Total Payout
  • Link to original post

Have some fun and give it a try yourself : https://steem-tag-search.herokuapp.com/


For the effort that @kasperfred put forth in providing this tool, I sent over the 500 SBD bounty. The search engine went above and beyond what I had hoped for and displayed them in an excellent way that makes them easy and attractive to search. The liquid SBD/STEEM from the post payout of this post will also be sent to @kasperfred as an added bonus.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES


Also, since a multitude of interest was generated by my post, many other offsite resources were shared. Here are some other sites that you may not have been aware of. Many people are already enjoying these tools, and I was unaware of most of them, so I figured I'd share about them here.

https://www.steemnow.com/ created by @penguinpablo


https://www.asksteem.com/ created by @thekyle

@theklye also created https://www.asksteem.com/userexplorer specifically to do searches like the one I mentioned


https://github.com/netuoso/cryptoscripts/ for resources from @netuoso

BIG THANKS!


A big thanks to everyone in this community and specifically to those with the knowledge to create things like this. Ideally, I would like to see a tool like this available on the user homepage so that anytime you went to their steemit profile you could search their posts by the tags used, but this will certainly fill in the gap.

I am glad that in this community we are all free to brainstorm, share, question, fund, and develop so that together we can combine our efforts to make this community better day by day. Thank you everyone and STEEM ON!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-payment


(Also, the colorful @papa-pepper artwork in the cover image was created by @shayne, in case you were wondering.)


Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Too bad I was a little late to the party. All the scripts and tools I am writing for SteemIt will be able to run directly on Steemit. It get's a little tricky trying to conform to the SteemIt design due to their use of React, but I have been managing.

Thanks for the mention too. It helps.

Glad to hear it and happy to mention it. Thank you for all that you do!

Are you on steemit.chat ?

Yes but not at the moment. Same username

@netuoso
I wish i could code and write scripts like you, currently i have couple of ideas for this community that i will be glad to initiate myself.

If a script could be slightly modified to be better, definitely leave a comment or issue on https://github.com/netuoso/cryptoscripts.

Otherwise, you can usually find me in the PAL discord chat.

Alright, thanks

Maybe we could collaborate on bringing some of the tools to steemit.com

Papa Pepper: The Wild Man, The Giving Man.

Proof-of-Humanity
:D

@shayne

Thank you for offering a reward to make this done, I honestly think it should be a feature built into steemit.

Maybe the Steem gods who control the repository will allow for it someday.

Otherwise, there are people who develop browser extensions to make it happen.

Oh really? I never knew that. I'm going to have to look into these extensions.

I like it.. easy to find what your looking for... :)

It sure is!

500 wow!!!!, I would have won it if you told me (Ete papa-pepper) haha good one @papa-pepper and congratulations to @kasperfred for a job well done. Steem is great because of folks like you working hard behind the scene for our common success. Keep it up. Upvoted

It's just the beginning.

Amen to that..more success buddy and am sure that I will help out in the next big project. Lets stay in touch

Resteemit to get the kuddos out to you @papa-pepper and @kasperfred! Awesome teamwork!

Thank you for that. It is great what we can accomplish together.

Interdisciplinary projects are often the most fun :)

A remarkable idea of @papa-pepper and a remarkable solution also by @kasperfred .
Congratulations on your work and also the payment that has been given.
applause . . .

Thanks @intan!

Your welcome @papa-pepper

It's just the beginning.

Your app is so useful man! Thanks

It is very useful and I am very pleased to have it now! Thanks!

You did the best for comunity! And Congratulations for your achievement on Steemit! I just joined 8 days ago and I am addicted!

Glad to hear it. It is addicting, lol.

It's just the beginning.

This seems like such a great website.
This will help save so much time when filtering through a specific author and finding content you enjoy looking at.
Thanks @kasperfred and @papa-pepper

Yeah, so many excellent authors on steemit post on such a wide range of subjects, sometimes it is hard to find what you are looking for. Thanks!

It's just the beginning.

That is awesome @papa-pepper ! That is a handy tool for sure. Bounties like that are a great way to help things progress quickly. Thanks for everything @papa-pepper and @kasperfred !

Yup, bounties work great and get the job done quick!

It's just the beginning.

That's fantastic, this is something that was needed and I am so happy I don't have to google names anymore :)
Thank you ! Great job

I am very happy about it too! Thanks.

It's just the beginning

Awesome thinking @papa-pepper! Great job @kasperfred! Tried out the tool and was blown. This makes it so convenient to get to the articles I want to read. I put papa-pepper in the author field and left the tag text box empty and wow! :)

Wow indeed! I like the tool do much. It is very helpful.

It's just the beginning.

Happy to hear that. :) I find Steemit an incredible platform to bring out all of a person's talents. It's all because of people like (you and so many to name) who all go as far as you can and then again go that extra mile that Steemit has become the way it is! All the best always!

Thanks, but it would be possible without a community to support it.

Test Success!

It works great and was needed. @kasperfred should get it listed on http://steemtools.com/

Yes, that would be great!

I just submitted it.

Congratulations @papa-pepper!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 9 with 424 upvotes

lucky is this guy @kasperfred for winning thank you @papa-pepper foor such opportunities to the steemit users u just rock bro u had a good success and u deserve it currently you are a whale so u have grow too big for now.
anyways thanks once again for such contests and am looking forward to participate in these contests.

visit my blog @naseerbhat and if u like my posts kindly upvote,resteem and follow my blog
Thank You

I am not a whale, but thank you for the compliments.

It will be very great to see such a search engine in place. it will make navigation a snap and breeze. Thanks for sharing this wonderful post. It proves that you really love the steemit community. Cheers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

500 !? wow !

look at mister generous over here !

Let's just say I really wanted someone to provide me with the tool I needed. I consider investing in the community. Thanks!

and thats why we look up to you sir, keep being awesome!

Lol, thank you kindly.

Nice. Steem jobs!

Yup! More than one way to make money with steemit!

Excelente ,felicidades bro!!!

Thanks for the information. It is amazing what is available here on steemit.

I agree, truly amazing!

@Papa-pepper... Thank you be my friend.
Thank you make me be inspirated

Glad to hear it!

Thank you brother. If you dont mind upvote my post once a month brother. That is ok

Wow that's quite generous of you, way to go!

I figured that would be enough encouragement to get the job done. It was.

Great bounty! Congrats on making it all work! @jbcoin

@papa-pepper, glad you got your app, i started building it too but our chat connection shot all to hell on steemit.chat, It still says I have 3 msgs from you but no love as the entire pM window is just white. but only for you... yet it shows 3 pending msgs. ./shrug. oh well

Yeah, I have chats like that too. No idea what is in there.

Looks like Papa needs a new pair of chat :D

Rad, thanks for working to make this place better, and rock on!

You too! Enjoy it!

Papa-pepper, I dof my cap for you. You kept to your word. You are a trustworthy fella.
Congratulations kasperfred. Your hard work had paid you.

Thank you for that.

Well, that's one good thing with open transactions; they are publically verifiable.

I doubt anyone Steemit would get away with not paying a bounty they promised.

Thats a great app @papa-pepper .Heading over to chect it out.Thank you for sharing.

Well i have disturbing news for an animal lover like you ,its really sad👉 DEAD ANIMALS

That is really sad... Even wicked.

Animals dont deserve this-these are beautiful creatures that also need to be left alone and nature will run its course.I am really touched about this subject.

I'll look into this tool when I get off work, thanks for the post!

Cool, let us know what you think!

I immediately saw the app from @penguinpablo , and use it with pleasure! God bless its creator :D

Cool, I'm glad that you like that one too!

@penguinpablo's app is awesome.

+100500.
Informative and very compact. As we say: all great— easy! :D

seems I have used out my money otherwise I will vote for u~

Great to post...i like it, good luck.

Thanks! I like it too!

These sort of things inspire us new steemians to not just curate but develop or help others in developing more and more helpful and efficient stuff like this. Making steemit better each day.
Thanks @papa-pepper and @kasperfred.

Thank you for the encouragement!

Hopefully, there'll be more Steem "jobs" in the future.

Perhaps even some more long term coordinated projects.

Yeah, steemit as a freelancer.

Thanks for this great tool - already tried it and it works a treat. Thanks also for your generosity to the steemit community - appreciated @papa-pepper and resteemed.

Thanks for that. I think it works great too!

I'm glad to see that the community rallied around to quickly deliver this much needed functionality.

There certainly were a lot of willing people excited for the chance to help! Thanks @avarice!

Great tool!
Thanks @kasperfred and @papa-pepper!

It's just the beginning.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $40.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 30 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you papa-pepper a whole lot!

Thanks for the writeup @papa-pepper

The traffic to the site has exploded; it seems people really like the tool.

Excellent news! Thanks for the tool and enjoy the SBD!

The images not loading at all is not your internet, but a bug in the program.

It turns out when you upload images to steemit.com directly, they use a special token when they send the GET request to AWS.

Since this special token is based on a cryptographic key, I'm not able to load the images, but they still currently register as being there.

It's something I may fix in the future (by not even attempting to load those images), but I don't think it's a huge problem right now.

I do like the images that it does pull. For the most part, a lot of them show. Thanks for the honesty!

Super that through your bounty this tool was created. I also LOVE IT and using it not only to search through my old posts but also through posts of other users, like my followers. I also done a review post on this tool and included some recommendations for the roadmap. I also reached out the the developer already. Anyway, for those who like to see what I would like to tool to become, check the post here. NJOY Steeming and Searching!

This is awesome. I love finding new features that help out like this!

Hey, i also just released a tool that is primarily for creating charts to visualize auothor/tag data, but also lists the last 100 so it would solve this problem as well. Take a look if you're interested: http://steemcharts.io/?author=papa-pepper

Just select author or category, type in the search bar, hit enter!

There are some amazing tools out there for Steem! I haven't yet tried the ones you mentioned here, going to check them out now.

@papa-pepper I heard you wrote a great article on the values of steem vs steem dollar and how to get the most payout, not to hold steem, etc.. but you have so many posts, I searched through your previous posts but couldn't find. I would use this tool to find it but I don't know what tag you used. Anyway you can send the tag or a link? Would really appreciate it. Thanks

I will get you the link.

great.. ive been searching and searching. I couldn't even find the original post that mentioned your post. Need to start bookmarking better.

Thank you so much. BTW, Im going to vote for witnesses today. I get 30 votes but only know about 5 of them. Since you been here awhile, do you have 5 you would recommend and I'll vote for them too?

Some of my personal favorites are

pharesim
thecryptodrive
ausbitbank
liondani
riverhead

thank you @papa-pepper. I only had one of those on my radar. I will add the other 4. Keep up the good work.

thanks for this @papa-pepper, this is a great resource!