How I Saved My Friend From Losing $1000 - [boxing][sports][gambling]

in #boxing6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-05-13 at 8.04.40 AM.png

Win or Lose?


I have a friend who lives in Las Vegas, Nevada; a gambling mecca for the United States. He called me up early yesterday to ask my opinion about the fight between Vasyl Lomachenko vs. Jorge Linares. He knows I am an avid boxing fan and have a pretty good sense for boxing fight outcomes.

On the phone, he explained to me that Jorge Linares was an underdog with something like 9 - 1 odds against his winning the fight against Lomachenko. He continued explaining that his friend, a boxing trainer and father to a pro boxer, was placing $1000 US Dollars on Linares to win on the chance that he could make $10,000 total from this bet. He went on about Linares and his boxing career and skills for a few minutes until he paused and asked if I was still listening.

I stood silent for a moment on the phone, and finally replied that I was listening to everything he said, but that there was no need to convince me, since I wasn't making the bet. I said that because that is exactly what it sounded like, him trying to convince but more for his own sake and benefit in order to place that bet, and maybe get me to co-sign on it.

So I put the brakes on that idea quickly. I told him that I believed Jorge Linares, the current WBA Lightweight champ, to be a great boxer and warrior, with a great boxing record of 44-3, but that Vasyl Lomachenko was a phenomenon, a boxer in his own class. I told him that in my eyes Linares, who looked the most excellent I have ever seen him at the weigh in, was at the peak or just slightly past his peak with too many wars under his belt. While Lomachenko, with only a 10-1 record, might be mistaken for a young rookie, which he is not due to his some 400 amateur fights (of which he only lost a very few). And his only professional fight loss was a decision robbery against a hardened fight veteran named Orlando Salido

I ranted about Vasyl Lomachenko's boxing skills, speed and stamina. I explained to my friend that their is a reason why his nick name is "Hi-Tech." I said, Vasyl Lomachenko is like a living encyclopedia of boxing speed, skills and technique with a robot machine like quality because he just does not stop.

He hits you, 'bop, bop, bop.....Bap!'

Then he is on your side hitting you 'bap, bap, BOP!'

And before you know it, he has you spun around, swinging at the air, and you don't even know where he is, because he is now behind you!

Save your money I said. Either bet Vasyl Lomachenko to win or give me the money if you are that serious about throwing it away. So he said he would not place the bet.

And that is how I saved my friend from losing $1000, because after an amazing 10 rounds of between two great boxers last night, Lomachenko TKO'd Linares with a solid left body shot to the kidney in the 10th round.

Upcoming Fights

Future calls, Horn vs. Crawford - Crawford in the 9th by KO

Now ask me about Mikey Garcia vs Vasyl Lomachenko - If they make this one happen soon, this would be anyone's guess but an AMAZING boxing match between two amazing boxing phenoms.

05/13/18
Full Steem Ahead!
@streetstyle

img src:
Pic 1 - Bloody Elbow

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Interesting and inspiring story. Thanks for sharing, I hope there are more loving people like you. Followed :)

now your friend will always ask for an opinion before betting, but it was an excellent fight

that's really fantastic you are the friend who helps everyone :)

Next time I decide to bet my money on boxing I'll write you on steemit lol!))
Thank god there is someone with this great level of intuition around.

I like boxing.

The word friend is a label anyone can try on. You decide who is best suited to wear it. Choose wisely. The most dangerous among us come dressed as angels and we learn too late they are the devil in disguise.
I think you are really happy with your friend.
Blessing to both of you .
You always send us a message by your post @streetstyle

Haven't watched much of boxing lately but I'd have to say job well done..
He will listen to you now if he wants to bet again

wow, a great match, I really like boxer, thanks for sharing a very good post, good luck always @streetstyle.

you did a great job man 🤭. A friend in need is a friend indeed.❤️. your friend needs your opinion you saved his to lose $1000 this is what we call friendship who always show you the right path well done :)

you have really done a great job man, you will get rewarded lately 😊 keep up the good work man...

Save your money I said. Either bet Vasyl Lomachenko to win or give me the money if you are that serious about throwing it away. So he said he would not place the bet. And that is how I saved my friend from losing $1000
I wish I had such a friend who could save me 1000$, its really appreciating, 1000$ means a lot. I would say he owes you these 100$°

@streetstyle it's okay, you're a good friend, you have to be very selective when choosing with whom to share, your friend was not wrong.
Happy Sunday :)

Wow that's great, you know my friend helping other's is the best thing we could do. and you did it and helped your friend and saved him losing 1000$, is he agreed to give you a party?

wow,really you sharing very great post of boxing.i love boxer.. this is a great match of boxing..thanks to sharing for your great post..my dear friend. @streetstyle

god knows everything ...keep calm him and be patience..
understand him everything about it..then he will realize .

resteem done

An interesting story and you are right, that helped to understand a friend in the intricacies of boxing and saved his money! Thank you @streetstyle

This is an interesting story. Probably your friend is grateful to you. Thanks for sharing :)

Hi @streetstyle you can open a section for weekends about ufc predictions so you are very good analyzing fights and could help us to earn some money :). Regards

That’s really good example of good friend..you really saved him because $1000 is not a small amount..I think gambling is not a good idea.

i also love boxing as a decent game.

boxing very risky game.

I'm a huge fan of Boxing.
It's good to hear that you saved another boxing lover money.
Well done happy to see you writing about boxing.
@streetstyle Thanks for your incredible article.

It's look like you have a strong knowledge prediction about boxing.
It was such a good work that you saved your friends $1000
Thanks for sharing your good article, you are very good person.

Boxing is very interesting game and it's only real men game in the world.
But glad to hear that you saved your friend money.
your friend is really happy for having a great friend like you.
But i thing in the next match Terence Crawford gonna win.
I like that guy.

we all know about your greatness.
You saved your friends money ! sounds cool.
Thanks for sharing your amazing article about boxing.

You have done a great job you helped and saved your friends money.
What a great hearted and loyal person you are !!
We always appreciate about your loyality. Keep it up.

wish you all the best
god bless you

How I Saved My Friend From Losing $1000

Very good article. you are amazing content creator.

I really love boxing thanks for writing something good in boxing.
You are great writer in steemit, i appreciate that.

Interesting, instructive story. $ 1000 big money. Thanks for sharing.

I'm also a great fan of boxing. Though I haven't get any chance to see live boxing but often watch it on Television.

i am still waiting for , Horn vs. Crawford fight.

Who do you think will win this match?

Well, my vote is for Crawford, Because of he the best boxer in the world, and he won 32 out of 32 matches.

yes sir i also support Crawford, best he is one of the best boxer in the world.

good bless you....

Hahahaha. Such a save man.
I'm not a big fan of boxing but I used to watch boxing before sometime. I think both Linares and Lomachenko are world class , but I would have given the upper edge to Linares but the results matter for sure.
Great job done saving your friend 1000$

i like ww boxing....

First of all gambling is not a good thing, You should advice him to stop all this crap.

boxing very risky game.

wow.that's great ....i will go for sports...it would be fair...

what a great advise and prediction for saving your friends money.

I stand for crowford for the next fight

Jorge, my favourite fighter

Boxing, the best sport

excellent post ..loving to your blog.thanks for sharing..

That is indeed great buddy. after all that is what friends are for ;)

Boxing is great but gimbling is a wast of money
You are an awesome friends its rare nowdays to find some who can really trust , thank you resteemed

Who are losing $1000?? Who are fight?

Two part is available on every situation,,
Win or loss,,So don't be upset,,Mental situation and trick may help so much,,thanks for sharing,,
I wish your friend will win ,,
@upvoted

Yeah,,I wish your friend will win..

There are 2 pages
Pages