You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pissing on Holy Rags: Does the truth need to be watered down (no pun) to bring people to the freedom "movement"?

in #brainwash7 years ago

@kafkanarchy84 I absolutely understand your point, however I think that acts like this enrage so many people because the flag is a symbol to them of the sacrifices made by so many of our veterans and public servants. I do not approve of this type of activism...i.e. the destruction of symbols be they flags, religious texts/symbols or the like but I do support the individuals freedom of speech and expression. Provided their actions are not physically harming others or their property. Thanks for bringing up this discussion and allowing everyone to express their thoughts. If we could have true discussions without being offended to the point of closing down we would go along way in addressing the issues facing the world today.

Sort:  

I hear you, and I 100% respect your position that you do not approve of this type of activism. To be honest, it is not my style either. As two people who "get it," we can talk about it, and even disagree on some things, perhaps, without threatening to kill each other, and I love that!

Exactly....without civilized discussion that aims to resolve differences the gap between grows wider and becomes even more difficult to traverse. Ain't Liberty grand!!!!! At least the parts that haven't been stripped from us lol. Hope you have a great weekend.

I agree. The destruction or desecration of a flag or holy book is in reality a harmless act, yes, but it pisses people off, and generally, pissing people off is not a way to win them to your side. Was there really any government addict who saw this video and then was like "waaaaait… taxation is theft!"

Win them over with arguments. And don't shove the arguments in their faces, but make them easily-accessible when they're ready. That's how the liberty movement eventually won me over, and I know I'm not alone. Were I as I was a decade ago, this video wouldn't have swayed me either.