Variations on a Theme

in #breakfast6 years ago

A version of this post appeared on this blog on February 3, 2017. This is an update.

Although I still have a couple of months before returning to work following the birth of my son, Michael, I am already making a plan that will prioritize self-care. A big part of that, for me, is eating healthfully.

At this point, I’m no stranger to this “work away from home” mom gig, but meal planning continues to be a pitfall. Dinner is a struggle because of some unique food needs in our family so I’ve chosen to focus on planning ahead for breakfast in this iteration of my return to work in the hopes that starting out strong will make cooking dinner less of a challenge in the evenings.

To that end, I took the opportunity to cook some breakfast food ahead of time during my 2-week maternity leave before Michael decided to / was forced to (I was induced) make his appearance. I’m really excited about the food I have ready to eat and wanted to share the recipes I used with you. I hope that this helps you to plan ahead in this area of your self-care! There is a possibility I’ll make a little more before going back to work. If that is the case, I’ll update this post with the other things I’ve made.

 

The Best Cranberry Orange Bread. To save my sanity, I used aluminum bread pans that can be recycled after they are used. I just couldn’t imagine that scrubbing down bread pans after having been frozen would be very easy and it makes for easier storage in my freezer.

“Pump Up Your Milk” Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread. I know the link says muffins, but I just baked it in bread pans and it came out delicious! My kids even liked it – and they are both at notoriously picky ages.

Pumpkin Pie Slow Cooker Overnight Oatmeal. This is probably one of my favorite make-ahead breakfasts. I’ve made it before, and it is delicious. It freezes and reheats SO well!
artem-bali-682651-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Artem Bali on Unsplash


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://rachelahanson.blog/2018/09/24/variations-on-a-theme/

Sort:  

congratulations!! @rachelhanson10

Thank you so much 😁