You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is My Mind On This Book

in #bro2 years ago (edited)

I watched Botany on Netflix and at the time was stunned by the zoom photography of the cannabis plants. The entire concept of plants domesticating us blew me away, and laid a good foundation for “Sapiens” to follow up that strand of thought in my mind when discussing the history of wheat.

It was probably the first time I started to wrap my head around evolutionary biology and psychology, as well as really start connecting the dots to see that everything is indeed connected, that the whole universe is just a ball of chaos learning to put itself in order, and everything known and unknown touches everything else somewhere, sometime, however beyond notice it may seem.

I don’t recall loving “How to Change Your Mind” as much, or even whether I finished it, but this one is worth the listen.

Sort:  

Oh man! I'd completely forgotten that the concept of a species domesticating us came from Botany! Man, I can't wait to curl up with that book again. I don't remember much from it, really, but I do remember having so many of those "mind blowing" moments reading it.

Have you ever listened to the comedy of Bill Hicks? Reading your second paragraph made me think of this

Dude, if the domestication of us by plants blows your mind you gotta read "Sapiens" by Yuval Noah Harari. His explanation of the magic of language shot a laser-focused beam of understanding straight into my brain.

I doubt I can do it justice here, but the short of it is magic spells are called spells because you spell them out, in the example he used, in order to create constructs we could use to expand our cooperative abilities, by way of legal contracts.

For instance, to make my point, God didn’t exist until someone wrote down who/what it is and began enforcing it’s will. In time enough “spells” were cast, that something that never existed on this earth before now held a physical presence in the form of monuments built to it, followers dedicated to it, assets it owned and controlled, and people generally willing to acknowledge and credit or blame it such that it became a real force and authority in the natural world.

Those 2 concepts changed how I see everything. I’m a multi-generational slave to the planet I live on and part of the dominant species of said planet. I’m a goddamn paradox and so are you. 🤣

God sounds strangely similar to a currency 😄

I will have to pick up this book!!

That was my example. He used corporations in his but it’s the same concept.

I remember that bit. It may have been my first introduction to him although I think the dinosaurs being the devil’s biggest trick might have preceded it via audio back in the Napster days.

"I think God put you here to test my faith."

Lol. I’d agree, except I don’t remember doing any such thing.

Lol, yeah man. I’m pretty sure I’ve seen all of his work at one time or another, and was aghast when I heard out Dennis Leary stole his act. I never followed up to find out which one, though.

Mitch Hedburg was one of my faves back then, too. His vibe and presentation won me over instantly.

Yep, I used to love Denis Leary until I heard about that. Now I wish gangrene on him. Anywhere, but preferably in the nether regions.

Lol Mitch Hedburg is awesome.