I think Hive replaces web pages

in #broadhive3 years ago

And there are some amazing solutions like the magic upload, where does the image go?

image.png

This is uploaded to files.peakd thank you @peakd very much for this. So are you storing all the files? This is is a great services can you please tell me more?

However if I want to upload something like a game, I need to use a hosting service which is usually around $100 a year and I know there are other services but the one I have used for years I usually renew. I have created more than a few web sites in my life and all of them eventually disappear.

Not here though, on Hive as long as we have witnesses running nodes then Hive will be a decentralized data layer. I have thought a bit about how we can continue to decentralize yet strengthen the chain as a whole. I am happy to see that Hive-Engine is now running their own witness layers and although I dont fully understand how it all works I can see the utility of it.

I have some free games I have created. I wonder what options there are for uploading a folder of html and other files, just like you would using ftp, but to the Hive chain or some sort of other service?

image.png

Sort:  

An image server wouldn't be a good place to host games.

There seem to be a huge number of places that host games. If your game is open sourced, you could host it on github. Google and Apple both have app stores that host app based games.

Most game repositories like to scan the game for viruses and add use a hash to verify that the code hasn't been changed.

Would be interesting to have 7 day hot contracts, or live code that ended when curating did.

It would prevent Zerodays because the contracts would be renewed and audited weekly.

Thank you, I was thinking maybe something like github could be an option.

As I understand, the whole point of DEFI is that it is supposed to find a way to fund things like games.

If it is an interesting game, there probably is a way to pay for your hosting fee through DEFI.

We shall see what comes of SPS as splinterlands is paving the way

If each post was its own block and had smart contracts, that would be cool.

We would have easy to use, time locked investment options.

Where you could match someone's investment just by upvoting their post with a "smart upvote" which would execute the command on the blockchain.

This is a novel idea. There is probably a way to do this or something similar if it were coded.

Yeah but this is not your average blockchain lol the coding seems very next level, I was wondering when someone will show up and try to 1 up the witnesses but from a decentralized method that gives better security.

You always have such great ideas @darkflame, have a great day!