You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tree Tuesday ~ No Shirt, No Shoes, No Service...Except Hobbits ~

Ooh, I like that. More sleuthing of the Hobbit tree. With a sort of Mt. Birdmore, of the forested set as the result. You have a keen eye, the owl jumped right out when I looked again. As did the others, though the owl was beyond obvious. (Sometimes we get too close to our own "art". ) Your Craftsbird [ O : ] theory holds BUCKETS of water. And I'm quite certain they must be Pileated woodpeckers (think Woody Woodpecker, only not on celluloid), and other lesser species, in joint effort. Pileated make square holes, and others round-ish. So a joint project, obviously.

Curious D here: Do you have Pileated in your neck of the sandy wood?

Sort:  

Mt. Birdmore...lol. I had no idea that different types of woodpeckers made different shaped holes. Here I thought some group of woodpeckers were just pecking away randomly to make that art, when in reality they were all organizing themselves like drill bits - We need a square hole over here guys, where's a square?!

The pileated woodpeckers are the only ones I ever see. I guess I don't recognize the other ones. There was one pecking away at the top of a powerpole near my house the other day...that was slightly disconcerting. If I don't respond to comments for a few days it may be that he took at that pole I'm without electricity.

Ha haa, if you do dark on here, I shall know Woody paid you a visit. They are big enough to take out about 6 households of Internet coverage.
I'm sure you have other woodpeckers, but they just look and act like regular birds. Except regular birds seldom bang their heads on large, immovable objects. Unless they've recently lost a bet...

Ha, I wonder if those birds that fly into windows have really just lost a bet ;)

Think you're onto something here. Maybe they're just trying to end it all, rather than go back to the nest and admit they lost all their worm savings on the latest game of craps, which is what the seagulls play all the time, at the beach. That's where the name actually came from. Little known bird fact of life....