Sort:  

I really like Binance myself.....but mostly for these forward thinking and rewards for holdings on their platform. Also, when China was doing the bans, they said Nope! We're moving our servers out of China! They listen to their customers, and they help quickly, and are very concerned whether or not your issue got resolved. The volume is way up from when they started, another positive. I live in the US, and I anticipate regulation on the people using Centralized Exchanges. That being said, I try to stick to DEX.

The other thing about DEX is it's much easier to hide yourself if you desire to do so....and it can't be shut down unless all the nodes just stop running....not likely ever. I don't wan't my assets ever frozen due to an executive order or something while I'm sleeping, and wake up to a big problem. It just seems more prudent to use a DEX....especially since all these currencies are based around being decentralized....kind of makes sense on that level.

It depends on how often you trade, where you live, and what you might think is coming next in this realm.

Personally, I really like Binance, but I try my best to stay off CEX unless I need it to shift funds around for whatever reason.

I do not know about binance, but comparing to biggest exchanges, like, Bitfinex or Poloniex - BitShares DEX is not very useful right now. It has very little volume and prices are higher.

Not useful must be a subjective experience. I make more money on DEXs than any other exchanges, no question about it. I also get assets at much lower prices than most CEXs....then I go sell them to the CEX people who will pay more for them. I'm sorry you've had that experience. I will say if you're looking to day trade all day, that's probably not the best place to do it, but otherwise I see the BTS DEX as a huge advantage over trading on CEX. Prices might be higher at times, but generally I get a better deal with a little patience, and the price always levels out to normal if it is high or low.

And shoot, the other day Kraken and Bittrex BTC prices varied by over $1000.