You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monastics - a bunch of outcasts, seekers and losers? What can a monastery be regarded as, what does it serve for?

in #buddhism6 years ago

It was important to me to make it clear that a place like a Buddhist order offers fewer possibilities to develop a worldly self-interest.

Yes--impossible to ignore the influence of environment. I agree temptation, almost in the biblical sense, makes it so much harder to be ethical. Which is why the monastic setting would seem to make piety more likely. My experience with this is very limited so obviously my judgement is theoretical.

As for my mother--I don't mind speaking about her. She led a very hard life--battled lung disease throughout, and suffered from hearing loss. She raised six children, alone. One of them was severely disabled and another became critically ill and stayed ill for many years.
Her piety predated all of this. It just seemed she had an internal mettle (I don't have it). She never spoke of it to anyone, except us. Just prayed and examined conscience. Faulted herself when she had an unkind thought about anyone. As she prepared to die, years ago, she called everyone she could think of and apologized for anything she might have done to hurt them.
What a model I had. Sort of ruined me for the world--which turned out to be a great disappointment :)

Sort:  

We've got some similarities here. Though I wouldn't say that my mom was particularly friendly - she became more of a mischief in her later age. Raised six children as well and hardly ever complained about her own miseries. I met her sharp tongue still once in a while and battled with her. As I see it you held alive your mothers good qualities in your own way. LOL! No ruin can so far be spotted:)

I have noted the similarities in our backgrounds before, including the presence of twins in the family, as I recall. She and I battled also. I had many questions and she was accepting of everything. I think it would have been better for her to be more combative, and challenging.

As for ruin...so much I try to hide :)