You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiring 1 Developer to Build a P2P Steem/USD Gateway!

in #budget6 years ago

Does this affect only US residents or US Citizens who travel around the world? My girlfriend is American and we travel since over 2.5 years around the world and she still is doing her tax in May. I am German but because I am not working in the country and I am since over 10 years not in the country I am legally a "Steuerausländer" or tax foreigner that means I don't need to pay tax.

Sort:  

It's a good question. US laws generally apply to US citizens even when they are traveling, but maybe if you're in another country at the time and you're not trading with an American, it might not apply. It's not really a few small trades that would get you in trouble anyways, I think, it's more if it starts to look like a business. I think there's also risk if the trades are big, because I think the "real" motivation behind this is money laundering concerns by US regulators.

Thanks for this explanation @blocktrades , it really helped me to understand a few more things about transactions and regulations.

Regards, @gold84