Living Near a Tokyo Pet Store

in #bufotoxin7 years ago

I found the toad in a ditch next to the street I was taking home from the station. I took her back with me and put her in an old aquarium I had. It was a her. I know that because she was full of eggs, which she got on everything. She made so much noise continually bumping against the glass that I eventually let her loose inside my apartment.

I'm not sure what kind it was, but I was thinking a Cane Toad, since handling it seemed to give me funny sensations. I'd heard some of these toads had a psychedelic toxin and I thought maybe this one was putting some of that on me. When I picked her up or let her walk on me – everything in my Tokyo apartment was close to the ground and I often fell asleep on the floor – I was getting mild heart palpitations and a weird type of skewed perception.

I went the the pet store and bought her “pinkies” – baby mice – for a while. But it got on my nerves to witness an amphibian, two steps down the evolutionary ladder, gobbling up little mammals so unconcernedly. Finally, I opened the door one afternoon and just let the toad hop back out into the neighborhood.

You know that old saw about getting warts from toads? A couple of days after the toad left, some little green pimples popped out on my chest and arms.!

toad.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @okubodenizen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!