You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am blacklisting @trevonjb from using @buildawhale

in #buildawhale6 years ago

I'm not defending Trevon because I dont know what he's doing exactly, but isnt the strategy of using the bots encouraged here basically? He had a good amount of Steem from the beginning ie bought himself power and he's using it to make money .. isnt that the name of the game here? I'm bummed that Steemit doesnt focus much on content or brain trust, as it claims, but is focused more on gaming the system .. Look at @haejin or many others with multiple posts daily .. making money while Steem is up ... it ticks me off but it seems like that is a big part of why Steem exists .. am I wrong?

Sort:  

He is using money gained as a result of scamming others. I will not support promoting him using anything I have control of.

Okay I understand that. When I see users claiming they can ban other accounts and "mess with" your account .. I guess whales and powerful players can shut down accounts? I didnt know that. Using flags is very tricky in an anarchic space and easily gets out of control. I dont know how to deal with problematic users, but I worry that "innocent" accounts can be flagged by powerful users just to show they have power. As a newbie minnow, I find that troubling.

No one can shut down accounts, they can only flag your posts/comments.

Sorry, but that is not entirely true. You can be shut down "in effect" by being flagged to zero Rep. It is a threat that keeps many silent. All you have to do is take a look at #hendrix22 and his wife #lyndsaybowes (they are homesteaders, without wealth); they are losing all their income from steemit because they are fighting to stop misuse of steemit and their target has the power to bring therir posts down to zero. If you check his post (you will first have to click "SHOW"), you will see many of smaller Rep supporting him and then being flagged (to zero or not), so others just keep quiet. The bad guy, his flag is almost worth $70, plus he has more than one account, so not many can counter such an attack.

That is the problem with Steemit. Because we are on blockchain, when I complain about censorship (because a whale does not believe in something being posted) I am told, censorship is not possible. Same with being shut down: EFFECTIVE censorship and shutting of accounts by killing of their Rep or income is just as bad as the real thing and it causes the loss of some very good posters and people from Steemit.

I have never been caught up in the drama or been targeted by anyone on Steemit. You know what works for me? I don't waste time getting caught up in the drama at the risk of being targeting by anyone on Steemit. You'd be surprised how well minding your own business can keep you out of trouble.

I don't usually speak up in these conversations, but this has nothing to do with bots. Trevon James promoted Bitconnect like crazy, an obvious Ponzi scheme, and profited off scamming countless people before it dumped, leaving everyone but a select few or the earliest adopters holding the bag. The whole thing with Haejin is nothing like this, because although Haejin is reaping a TON of daily rewards, he's technically not breaking any rules (thus leading many to believe the rules need to be changed somehow), but Trevon is literally a scammer.