You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Caution, Disruption Ahead: BuildTeam.io Now Live!

in #buildteam7 years ago (edited)

For example... how promoting on Steemit could work? First of all, no one checks "Promoted" tab, and I totally understand why.

Selection_196.png

Probability, that there is something interesting is much lower. If something would be really interesting, then this would be on trending anyway. So because promoting a post do not give any good results, then people prefer to pay MinnowBooster.

How this should be solved:

For example, every 10-15th entries, there should be a spot for promoted content, starting from entry #2:

Selection_199.png

And if there will be a 4 promoted post on the platform:

  • post A would spend 50 SBD on promotion
  • post B would spend 30 SBD on promotion
  • post D would spend 19 SBD on promotion
  • post D would spend 1 SBD on promotion

Then, posts A, B, C, D would have respectively 50%, 30, 19% and 1% chance to be displayed to next user on the #2, on the trending page.

Do you think, users would prefer such method? I think they would! :)

Sort:  

Agree with you. I had written a similar post about Steemit promotions. https://steemit.com/steemit/@gokulnk/are-steemit-promotions-dead

In its current form Promotions are a waste of money unless you are a company or you are already a whale.

Would be an improvement for sure. However, minnowbooster offers a direct return on investment that might not be matched by promoting you post. I think plenty of people would still use it. I'm happy you brought this up. It's an important discussion to have on steemit.

I think it's more than a little ridiculous ... look at our team list ... we have mouths to feed and lots of them. OP FUDSKI has 40K STEEM, maybe he should pay our wages? I mean he worked hard for that money, earned it, but that belongs to everyone doesn't it?

Open source is cool, but it's not some thing that should be mandated, demanded, or even expected. Why does OP feel he is entitled to "compete" by having free access to the proprietary code of a private enterprise?

I wonder if he made his 40K giving things away for free? Maybe he did produce some brilliant OS software that people donated too, but I highly doubt it. I'd wager 150 STEEM OP is hypocrite. He can prove me wrong by giving me 500!

I think the discussion around how new users who make quality content are recognised is an important one. I don't agree that open source or not is about competition. Even if minnowbooster was open source, you can't replicate their success overnight. However, we can all have opinions of what is healthy or not healthy for the ecosystem. I think the build team projects have had a impact in pushing forward the ecosystem which I think noisy recognises.

That is definitely an important discussion. In the end steemit has to improve their ui. I don't think promoted is the silver bullet.

One plan I had is using AI to find stuff you specifically like. But that would be incredibly expensive and I don't think people would want to pay for it.

Someone with the funds of stinc could make that happen though. We will see if they do.

Would love to read your opinion on this matter in a post. This discussion is derailing a bit here 😅

I think it would be cool if there would be somekind of bounty or incentive for contributing into the steemit frontend codebase here:
https://github.com/steemit/condenser

Like the improvement @noisy pointed for example - contribute the code, get it tested and get rewarded.

The question is who is willing to pay for those open source contributers?

That is the question. I am happy to pay for contributions that help me build things. Most of that would be improvements of radiator.

I am pretty sure that stinc pays people to contribute. But I guess you have to talk to them first.

there is no such thing like free lunch. If you have something for sure, then this mean, that someone else who maybe deserve something more... will not get it.