17yo Self-made Millionaire’s Open Letter To Adults

in #buisness5 years ago

dropshipping-and-facebook-ads-blog.jpg
Source: https://images.app.goo.gl/yHrANHf3116bbr8h8

If I had a dollar for every time I heard yet another insult about Millennials like me, I could probably actually afford to be every bit as lazy as we’re always being accused of being.
Honestly, it feels like kids my age should all be walking round with helmets on given just how much of a beating we take from older generations.
Millennials are the laziest generation. We take, take, take but aren’t ever willing to do the hard stuff. We can’t or won’t put in a full day’s work. Or, in the case of Muffin Break, aren’t even willing to work for free (shocking, I know, to expect to be paid for your labour …).
Most recently, in March this year, a HR firm jumped on the anti-Millennial crusade, describing us as “entitled and over-informed”, and said one in three young people who get hired won’t even make it past the 90-day mark at a new job.
Let me make this as clear as I can: This is certainly not the case.
We’re lazy? I started my first online business at 12 years old, using the money I got mowing my neighbour’s lawn, which earned me the grand total of $20 a pop. I had no real money, no degree and no help. But I read and read and read and figured out a way to do it for myself.
Now, my e-commerce company has turned over millions of dollars, and I work harder than ever to keep it growing.
My day starts at 5.30am, and I spend my first two hours monitoring what happened on my sites the night before. I use the quiet hours of the morning (before my parents are even awake) to work on my company’s long-term goals.
Then it’s off to school for a pretty regular day before I get home at about 4pm and do two hours of homework and have dinner with my parents. After that, though, it’s back to work.
I spend the next three hours replying to emails, ensuring everything on the site is running smoothly, tracking the success of my ad campaigns and planning new ones, dealing with customer and supplier issues and generally ensuring the business is moving in the right direction.
And then the next day, I’ll do it all again.
I’m not saying that to boast because I’m not the only one. In fact, right across Australia — and across the world — young people are doing incredible things. There are start-up hubs and co-working spaces filled to overflowing with young people trying to launch the next revolutionary business that will change the way we live or work. And yet all we get told is how lazy and entitled we are.
But you know what? We’re not listening. We don’t want to spend 40 years chained to a desk taking a pay cheque like you did. We want to be in charge of our own future.
And we’re making it happen whether you like it or not.

Jack Bloomfield is a 17-year-old entrepreneur from Brisbane who runs several eCommerce stores. Through a simple method called “dropshipping”, Jack imports hundreds of products from overseas and sells them to international markets from his bedroom while still attending high school.
What were you doing at 17?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Source
Plagiarism is the copying & pasting of others work without giving credit to the original author or artist. Plagiarized posts are considered spam.

Spam is discouraged by the community, and may result in action from the cheetah bot.

More information and tips on sharing content.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #disputes on Discord

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 0.46% upvote from us for your 73 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.news.com.au/finance/generations/17yo-selfmade-millionaires-open-letter-to-adults/news-story/3ab4fd514b3aa838b14b5ca12f96ca40

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to ricki2000! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Congratulations @ricki2000! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You just received a 20.77% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @ricki2000!
WaveSmall.gif

You got a 10.56% upvote from @upvoteturtle. Thank you very much for using this upvote service. 😍
We would be very happy about a delegation to grow and increase the maximum upvote!😉
10SP 20SP 50SP 100SP 200SP
This voting Bot pays 100% out to all Delegators and gives an upvote Revenue of 120%