What You Need To Know In The Vacation Rental Industry 07-21-2017

in #business7 years ago

Hey there everyone, welcome to the BookingTeam "What you need to know in the vacation rental industry" blog post! See below for everything to keep you up to date with the vacation rental industry. Enjoy!

Airbnb: I’m Not Trying to Break Up With You, But I Think We Should See Other People
Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 9.37.42 AM.png

Let’s get this out of the way: Airbnb is fairly amazing. These days, with the click of a button, you’re at home pretty much anywhere around the globe, whenever you want to be. For those who can’t stop exploring, it’s easier than ever to stay mobile at a price that’s often remarkably affordable.

Yes, Airbnb is terrific — until it’s not. Airbnb is still largely illegal in some cities — New York has been fighting with the company for years. Amsterdam is currently clamping down, hard. In many destinations, hosts choose to ignore building and municipal rules regarding short-term rentals, asking their guests to straight-up lie if confronted by neighbors. Many cities haven’t yet figured out how to collect taxes, giving hosts a major advantage over local hotels that they have in no way earned. Then, of course, there are Airbnb’s own fees, which can be downright punishing to the budget traveler.

Read on: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/David-Landsel/airbnb-im-not-trying-to-break-up-with-you_b_9612428.html

Airbnb Host Gets Fined for Discrimination After Canceling Asian-American Woman’s Stay
aaa.png

An Airbnb host who cancelled a reservation and told the guest, “One word says it all. Asian,” has agreed to pay a $5,000 fine and attend a college course in Asian-American studies, officials with the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing said Thursday.

The guest, Dyne Suh, had booked the home as part of a ski trip with her fiancé and friends in Big Bear in February. When she was close to the house, Suh messaged host Tami Barker through the Airbnb app, but the host cancelled the reservation after a dispute over additional guests.

Barker told Suh in a series of messages that she wouldn’t rent to her if she were the last person on Earth.

Read on: https://skift.com/2017/07/13/airbnb-host-gets-fined-for-discrimination-after-canceling-asian-american-womans-stay/

Vacation Rentals Are a Bright Spot at TripAdvisor
Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 9.38.00 AM.png

Since February, TripAdvisor’s share price has dropped 27 percent to $38 amid investor concern about its margins peaking in 2009 and falling ever since. That current share price is far below its $108 high in summer 2014.

At issue has been a delay in the shift to a potentially more lucrative business model of instant booking for hotels. In early May, TripAdvisor scaled back this strategy.

But there are corners of the company doing well, and one of those is vacation rentals.

Read on: https://skift.com/2017/06/01/vacation-rentals-are-a-bright-spot-at-tripadvisor/

If you have a Vacation Rental STOP… do not do one more thing before checking out www.bookingteam.com where we can look after everything for you… it’s your own personal booking team, around 24/7 for you and your guests.

Sort:  

wow a very good one again from you guys, always have my upvote.
I mentioned you in my new post, feel free to check it out.

Thanks for mentioning us @charles1!!

You are welcome, always...You guys are one of my best adress here for travelling and hence why I am following you guys (always enjoy your posts) and added you guy to my steemvoter.com for guranteed upvotes- keep steeming to more success.

Shocking to hear about the Asian discrimination, although I enjoyed reading about the "penalty".. the punishment fits the crime and all that ;)

Although Airbnb is certainly fraught with issues, and I've experienced setbacks myself as both a guest and a host on more than one occasion, the whole concept of the average Joe/Jane turning their home into a hotel and taking the accomodation monopoly away from established hotels is too powerful to gradually wane.

Just like bitcoin, more problems will arise, but it's so innovative and popular that it will continue to endure (and thrive!)

We totally agree @jobsande!! The vacation rental business is set to professionalize even further next few years. You can have a look at our article about where it's heading here: https://steemit.com/business/@bookingteam.com/what-s-next-the-future-of-vacation-rental

Nice, thanks for sharing that :)

I have used Airbnb several times and usually found their service pretty good. However, recently they locked my account due to apparently breaking their affiliate terms and conditions. It was very difficult to get hold of them and rectify the issue. It took a few months!

Yup this is a common occurrence unfortunately.

that was bad Airbnb cancelled the reservation
In my city too many of the tour management companies do.
Lol ! I was holding trip advisors share from the share market😅
It's been great to see your post and reading out them
Love to you @bookingteam.com
Steem On

As Long As I'm Having Fun It's Worth Paying For It :)

Never expected such action from Airbnb. It was always great with me.

Nice info @bookingteam.com

wow.. great post.. very helpful.. highly recommend your guys..
Thanks for sharing this info with us..
Have a great day

Stunning places worlwid,,,,a promotion of trust and transparency in the Airbnb...I didn't tried but it exciting and s new plan to try with.

I haven't used it yet! I rather give businesses what they deserve. It keeps jobs around. The business bring jobs less taxes and government makes jobs more taxes.

It would only take about 5 to 10 of us going on that website and posting a negative review and they would not only apologize, they would give those folks a free weekend, just to get back good reviews!

As an avid traveler this is valuable information. Thanks for posting... you have a new follower

not all heroes wear capes...

Very nice room, good composition _)

Thanks. Love vacation. Interesting. Thank you. I'm DOCTOR OATMEAL from the Original Oregon Island. I'm the one & only JOEY ARNOLD of VIETNAM HAWAII. I'm the Ghetto Joe Cool Kid of MAGA.

Hello, Interesting post. I'm @evgenya86, nice to meet you! I hope you enjoy my blog, I will follow your account and vote, please follow me and vote ... Good luck in everything :)

nice post
if you guys like my post then please upvote follow resteemed
https://steemit.com/steem/@neerajsharma007/top-5-altcoin-investment-july

nice post
if you guys like my post then please upvote follow resteemed
https://steemit.com/steem/@neerajsharma007/top-5-altcoin-investment-july

rental / transient houses are very indemand on our country nowadays...

we are focus on attracting tourists to gain profit for the govt...
because we have so many island 7000+ islands, its impossible to have hotels on each island... so rentals and transient houses are visible and blooming...

many tourist especially large groups and big family prefer rentals and houses because its much cheaper and can accomodate them all... thats why it is more indemand nowadays

Enjoyed your post, Keep the good work going!

For a little more than a year, the rental markets between private individuals, and more generally the rental of holidays undergo a period of real restructuring. From a fragmented sector, managed by a large label or specialized real estate agencies, it has turned into a complex distribution market on which various players are waging a severe economic war

I personaly never had a bad experience with Airbnb:) I have booked many times (stayed in Tokyo, Budapest, Thailand, Norvay, New York..)
Here is my referal link , so you and me get a little bonus when you book your first aibnb vacation:
www.airbnb.com/c/dbukovec3

Congratulations @bookingteam.com! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Ive also been der n de experience wznt so bad

Great post! follow my travel blog around the world!!

Renting can get expensive but you can't deny these locations are amazing! great ad nice work

Great Article!! Thanks for taking the time!!

One day I will have proper holidays I will have to worry with this kind of things. Now it is only work work work! bahhhh

Enjoyed your post, Keep the good work going!

I'm addicted to the picture :P Awesome post! Good to see you are keeping at things! Keep things flowing :)

Very nice images, I likes
I love to join steemit and to help earh other
#vote and follow you
Do not forget to follow and upvote me

The Vacation Rental Industry is completely BROKEN !!!

Please help get 1000 followers https://steemit.com/@aaravm and upvote my first post

Please help get 1000 followers https://steemit.com/@aaravm and upvote my first post

Please help get 1000 followers https://steemit.com/@aaravm and upvote my first post

As an ex-travel agency owner, I would not use AirBnB, I just don't trust it...you need to be able to speak to experienced staff, who know about travel, what the best deals are, what the best places are....I wouldn't go to a stranger's house to have my teeth fixed, just because he said he'd seen a few tv shows about toothbrushes, I would go to my dentist...

very nice

Never expected such action from Airbnb.

Congratulations @bookingteam.com!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 7 with $ 379,75

Muy buenos! Los hemos usado y hemos tenido muy buena experiencia

Exclusive interview with Moneymaker from the darknet........ Continuation of the article in our blog!

When going on holidays AirBnB was always the first thing that came to mind for accommodation, until now.. thanks for sharing!

very interesting. thank you @bookingteam.com

upvoted and follow my friend ...... if you want support me too as i am new here but i am a good photographer check my travel to Iceland, thank you https://steemit.com/travel/@bllackwidow/sakis-my-trip-to-iceland

The rooms are well decorated and the surrounding is eco-friendly.😄😎👍🏻

very good post, thanks for sharing all the info!! Please UPVOTE and FOLLOW me, as i've now done the same for you, thanks!