You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Actually Bring More Business Owners To Steem[it]

in #business5 years ago (edited)

we always keep circling back about the bots.. I’m not for or against them.. I just use them because I can. Why more people don’t is beyond me. You don’t get bonus points for not using them. This isn’t the boy scouts. Steemit inc knows Steemit is broken. They are building destiny. Let’s see what that turns out to be

Sort:  

I know this isn't the boy scouts, Joe. If everyone used bots, who would vote for free? How would you sell the idea of using paid votes if you couldn't use the line, "Maybe someone will then come along and vote for your post, since they can see it." Remember? It's sold as 'promoting content'. If there weren't any eyes around, if it was all bots, that means all eyes are gone, and all bots fail. Didn't you think of this before the last boy scout meeting?

But this isn’t the case... there are still eyes 👀 out there.... and there are many people who don’t use bots and manually vote (like yourself) so it’s a mix right now. You’re projecting a Steemit that isn’t here yet... maybe one day it’ll be all bots. But right now it’s not

I know of a better place for bots. I'm not fully against anything. It's just easier for me to piece the puzzle together. For you, you'd have to first admit what you're doing isn't the ideal solution. It's common for people running failing business models to run it into the ground rather than admitting a screw up. Not saying that's you, just saying that's how it is.

We probably shouldn't argue though. Agreed?

I agree with you that bots are not the solution to growing this community. And selling my vote isn’t “ideal” yes I admit that. We may not see eye to eye in everything but I respect you and your options. I’m on Steemit because there’s a million people here and I think the concept of earning rewards for posting is revolutionary. My mission is to help as many people I can and create inspiring high quality content. If it gets voted great if not that’s cool too. It’s out of my control who voted vs who doesn’t.

Nope, we won't see eye to eye, but there's no reason to take anything I say personally. You sell votes and I can't visit the trending page without making a scene. Two imperfect worlds will collide; so what, it's nothing personal.

I've helped a lot of people, or at least tried to. I'm a content producer first though, curator second. I miss the days when this place was jammed with people, but as you can see, my blog is still attracting the organic viewership. The rewards, well, it would be nice if those were higher but I didn't come here to complain about that. It is unfortunate much of following either vanished or decided to hang people out to dry while they sell votes and post on other platforms, ignoring the folks they once encouraged here. That's life, I just keep going. I won't purchase votes though. To me, it doesn't make sense if others earn more from my labor than I earn. In most cases, that's what's happening here. People are forfeiting 90% or more of the stated value of their posts just so they can scrape pennies off the floor. It's their decision to make poor business decisions. I choose not to participate in that madness.