You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Has Your Entrepreneurial Journey Been? I'd Love to Hear Your Story

in #business6 years ago

Such a nice question, and I've enjoyed the response you've gotten!
Perhaps I can add my story, but only in short, as I have work to do ;-)

I was tired of applying for jobs and having to explain why I studied philosophy and would totally do that again if I'd have to choose again...
So, I decided to become a

Freelance Philosopher

People look at me funny when I tell them this. But it has changed my world. Ever since registering myself as a freelance philosopher (January 2014) I have been getting more confidence in telling people about what I can do, from a position of strength, instead of feeling to have to defend something from a position of weakness.
So what I do? I write, I teach, I do research. At two universities (in China & UK) and at an art academy in the Netherlands. I give courses and this week my first book was published (in Dutch--English translation is about done, still looking for an English publisher). I'm still no good at marketing and 'selling myself'--I prefer selling a product and I still refuse to think of myself as a product... but last night I had my first radio interview on the Dutch national radio to talk about my book, I was incredibly nervous but it went pretty good overall...

So yeah, freelancing, being an entrepeneur means to me to put my own learning at the focus of everything, and putting my talents & skill up for grabs for whoever can use them best. And it means that I can say no to things that are too far beyond my interest... Although in the beginning I would take any kind of writing job, now I can be more picky and will only do philosophy jobs.

Sort:  

Wow, I really loved hearing your story!! I’ve never really heard of a freelance philosopher before, and I think it’s amazing that you followed your passion/vision to create the life you want.

I loved your last line. Freedom is about having choices and it’s awesome that you can be picky about the types of jobs you take.