BUSINESS: begin the year well with inner & Outer goal setting

in #business6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever experienced working really hard towards something, but when you finally reached it, it wasn’t as fulfilling as you hoped it would be? Or that you were alreay too caught up in the next goal to celebrate the ‘old’ one? Trust me, I’ve been there. In the last couple of years, i read and watched a lot about goal setting and the one theory / system that Made a lot of impact for me was the one I’ll schare with you today.

Outer goals 

Did you know we can categorize our goals in inner & outer goals? Outer goals are goals that have to do with status, the outside world. Even if you really want them for yourselves, some small percentage of your (subconscious) reasoning will be about status or something that has to do with appearance to the outside world. For example: living in a bigger house, earning a six figure income, travel the world. There's nothing wrong with goals either, the only thing is: having ONLY outer goals can burn you out. Outer goals should always be complemented by Inner goals. 

Inner goals

Inner goals are goals that (surprise) has to do with the inner world. It's more about feeling than having. For example inner goals could be: feeling creative everyday, working with only people I truly connect with or having more time to spend with family. These are the goals we rarely think about because we convince ourselves the outer goals are going to make this happen automatically. Wrong! Ofcourse, a six figure income would give you the opportunity to provide for your family in a good way, but you would still have to make the conscious decision to spend the time with them instead of with your job / business sometimes. 

Setting Inner & Outer goals

A bit cliche but also so true: the beginning of the year is the perfect time to set some goals for the upcoming year, or maybe even couple of years. Please take some time today, or this week to set your goals. And not just write down everything you want to achieve, think about why you want something. Write down the reasons, write down if it's an inner or outer goal (make sure you have both types) ánd set up some actionable steps while you're at it. 2018 is going to be your year!!

Share your goals below

Let's share our goals! I'll start: 2018 will be the year that I create more passive income. I want to create more passive income because in a few years, I hope to be location independent: which means I could work from everywhere in the world. I hope to photography 15 up to 20 weddings, get familiair with Steemit and to find more balance between work and free time - so I can enjoy the time with the ones I love that much more.



What are your goals for 2018? 

Sort:  

Congratulations @summer37! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi :) and Happy new year. Nice post. Goals goals goals... :))))
get familiar with Steemit -absolutely YES ;)
To be a better mom and wife and friend.
To be present with my family.
To be strong , healthy , kind.
To support my husband and my kids
if my mind is healthy i will achieve every goal that I have.
.
I wish you all the best. :)

Thanks for your answer Valensia. Beautiful goals - Happy New Year and all the best for you as well! :)